Harvesting the carcass

-

jos51700

Green Bearing thread connoisseur
Reaction score
It appears I'll be picking up a body donor for my '75 Valiant. I'd like to pull the rockers, wheel houses, floors, etc. as 'factory type' replacement panels.

Is it better, or is it even possible, to just drill all the spot welds and pull a panel like turning back the clock? Or should I invest in a plasma cutter and carve it apart?

I'm kind of against the plasma cutter, because maybe I'll want the adjacent panel. Is it possible to pull two or three pieces together and splice 'em in to the parent vehicle as a factory weldment?

I'm new to this. Any advice is appreciated.

It is possible to cut much of the car apart from the spot welds, but support the shell properly as you dismantle it to avoid the 3 C's (creasing, crumpling, collapsing) and pay attention as you go to what is going to be supporting the load as you move along. It's extra work, but I like the spot weld cutting method. You want the higher levels of this type of kit to do a whole car with. Blair Equipment Spot Weld Cutter Kits 11096

Last edited:
Question !! I’m asking cause I don’t know the answer ! But you have a donor car and your gonna use the quarters, rockers, floors, fenders why wouldn’t just build the donor car instead of yours ? I’ve even seen this same thing on television car show !!

Invest in a GOOD spot weld cutter or three, you'll need 'em. But they do a good job, and last 10x as long as the cheap ones. And yes, you can replace joined parts as an assembly- in some instances, it's preferable.

Method for me depends on what im cutting out and what kind of shape the donor car is in. On a rusty crap car I will break it down in smaller pieces with the plasma. I never cut a panel if its usable. If both panels you are separating are good, spot weld cutter is the way to go. Google Blair rotobroach. Best ones I have found so far.