Help with throttle cable problems

Discussion in 'Fuel and Air Systems' started by Steven190, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. Steven190

    Steven190 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    243
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Location:
    Omaha
    Local Time:
    4:17 PM
    I have gone through 3 different throttle cables, CI, Mopar and Mancini in 2 years.
    The car is a 69 Dart, 408 (360) Edelbrock RPM performer manifold, Fast EFI, stock throttle cable bracket and stock length throttle cable.
    It seems that the cable is too kinked going from the EFI to the firewall.
    What is everyone using? Is there a shorter cable available? Raise the bracket?

    I was trapped on a busy street and to idle home, got it to idle at 1400 but it was not pretty
     
  2. dartfreak75

    dartfreak75 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    493
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    Local Time:
    5:17 PM
    That sucks have you looked at the lokar ones? I have no experience with them but they look to be well made and adjustable.
     
  3. JoeSBP

    JoeSBP RLTW!

    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    468
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    NC
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    5:17 PM
  4. robert flippo

    robert flippo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    gibson station va
    Local Time:
    5:17 PM
    just replace a 225 with a 318 ,4 barrel high rise, and seems like every cable i get is in a bind,i will be watching this thread for the answer, i've been temped to keep a lawn mower cable in the trunk, so if mine breaks, i can at least make it home without towing.
     
  5. Steven190

    Steven190 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    243
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Location:
    Omaha
    Local Time:
    4:17 PM
    Thanks I will get the bracket. I was thinking about cutting and welding the bracket I have for correct the angle.
     
  6. 70aarcuda

    70aarcuda Master Hoader of SBM FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    13,651
    Likes Received:
    1694
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    las vegas
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:17 PM
  7. famous bob

    famous bob mopar misfit

    Messages:
    10,306
    Likes Received:
    2371
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    okla
    Local Time:
    4:17 PM
    I didn`t look at the sugested pics in the above posts. Sounds like u have too much angle in the cable, can u lower the bend where it comes over the back of the engine? I built mine using a stock 340 cable w/ an aftermarket cable / spring type deal that slides over the carb bolts. U can make a linkage lengthener if need be, don`t have to use the hi dollar raised stuff.
     
  8. toolmanmike

    toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    31,009
    Likes Received:
    13007
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    4:17 PM
    Stock cable for what application?
     
  9. abodyjoe

    abodyjoe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    19,031
    Likes Received:
    3029
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin,N.J. 08009
    Local Time:
    5:17 PM
    i like the lokar kits
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Steven190

      Steven190 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      661
      Likes Received:
      243
      Joined:
      Jan 13, 2012
      Location:
      Omaha
      Local Time:
      4:17 PM
      The cable is for a 318-340 4 barrel A body
      I have a new bracket coming.
      Thanks for the replies
       
    • famous bob

      famous bob mopar misfit

      Messages:
      10,306
      Likes Received:
      2371
      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2011
      Location:
      okla
      Local Time:
      4:17 PM
      ike
      68 fastback , 440/505 w/ torquer 2 intake/ 1200 cfm throttle body-----------
       
    • Jimacuda

      Jimacuda Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,205
      Likes Received:
      274
      Joined:
      Nov 10, 2006
      Location:
      Phoenix AZ
      Local Time:
      2:17 PM
      Got to agree.
      Installed both the Lokar throttle cable and kickdown cable.
      Couldnt be happier with either unless they installed themselves.
      I have a bin full of linkages and brackets...nothing worked right.
      Lokar worked correctly right from the install.

      72 Demon, 360, 750 holley, 727 auto

      100_2156.JPG
       
      Last edited: Oct 7, 2018
      • Like Like x 1