How much HP can magnum rods take happily

-

maca

Reaction score
Hey guys I've been running a turbo magnum engine for a couple of years now. I have a high and low boost setting on 420hp and 650hp at wheels. I've been running a standard magnum bottom end and the only thing that seems to let go are the pistons. So I'm putting a set of forged pistons in but not sure if I should upgrade the rods. I've had a look at some scat Hbeam rod and they don't look much stronger than a standard factory rods. Can anyone confirm what the magnum may be good for. Cheers

Magnum rods are 1.00 wide little end while the LA rods are 1.17 IIRC. Found that magnum stroker pistons would not fit LA rods without a little clearancing.

Looks?....one is made of 4340 steel and the other is made of 5140 steel maybe....

It may turn out that you are the one to tell us how much they can take.......650 hp at the wheels is certainly leaning on they pretty hard.......BTW what rpm are you turning??

Hey guys I've been running a turbo magnum engine for a couple of years now. I have a high and low boost setting on 420hp and 650hp at wheels. I've been running a standard magnum bottom end and the only thing that seems to let go are the pistons. So I'm putting a set of forged pistons in but not sure if I should upgrade the rods. I've had a look at some scat Hbeam rod and they don't look much stronger than a standard factory rods. Can anyone confirm what the magnum may be good for. Cheers

I believe you mean you had a look at "Scat I-beam" rods? The Scat I-beam look similar but are made from a better, stronger material (4340 steel) than OEM as well as better than Eagle I-beam (5140 steel). Piston weight and rpm have a lot to do with rod durability. But H-beams might be a better option considering the 650hp.

It may turn out that you are the one to tell us how much they can take.......650 hp at the wheels is certainly leaning on they pretty hard.......BTW what rpm are you turning??