How to identify a non lockup A999 transmission with pics!

-

rmchrgr

Skate And Destroy
Reaction score
There always seem to be a lot of questions and general mystery surrounding the A999 variants of the 904 auto transmission. Most of the things people are concerned with are how do to identify one from a garden-variety 904, what vehicles did they come in, do they all have low gear sets, how do I know if I have a 5-clutch drum etc.

I have a genuine, factory A999, non-lockup unit that has all the parts that make it an A999 and differentiate it from a standard 904. I'm not an expert by any stretch but, I have at least confirmed the little amount of info that's out there in regards to these particular units. Just thought I'd share this info with some pics to help those trying to identify one out in the field.

If you're wondering what is unique or special about the A999, I can try to explain it a little here. They were/are considered (by the factory) as a 'heavy duty' 904. I don't know about them being heavier duty than anything else out there, but there is some truth to the legend. They have wider front drums to accommodate more clutch discs (5 as opposed to the standard 3) which equates to more holding power under load and hard shifting. Any 904 can be built to withstand power but it is difficult to piece them together specifically as an A999 based on finding and retrofitting factory parts into a regular 904. Not all parts interchange and there are a lot of variations over the years that make it really tough to cobble together. Of course there are many people out there that successfully run extra clutch discs in standard drums without issue but if you want to eliminate any questions or parts searching, the best place to start is with the '74-'78 non lockup units I am describing below.