I hate my new computer!!!

General Discussion

  1. WRB426

    WRB426 Insane 4 Mopars FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    Bought a new computer a couple of weeks ago. I can't do a dam thing with it. Makes me wish I was a computer geek. ( no offense to computer geeks)
    I've been trying to download pictures to this site with no luck. I know I'm not to bright on using a computer but at least I could handle my old one ok. I'm sure I'll figure it out at some point. At least I can surf FABO and porn!!!
     
  2. 1970Duster

    1970Duster Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    Have you resized the pictures?
     
  3. WRB426

    WRB426 Insane 4 Mopars FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    Been trying but haven't found out how. A click here and a click there. LOL!
     
  4. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    39,772
    Likes Received:
    7395
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    Don't know what ta tell ya

    What did you use to resize your photos in the OLD computer? If you used something that "came with Windows" it's likely also in the new one

    If you had software for your camera in the old one, you'll have to install it in the new one

    There's a bunch of free download "tools" you can get from Microshaft

    and then there's Google, I'm assuming you have Windows h-eight

    (Hint.....sometimes it pays to lay off the porn and use Google to actually search for something useful)

    https://www.google.com/search?num=4...iona...0...1.1.32.serp..4.18.2045.GSbleK5fOug
     
  5. WRB426

    WRB426 Insane 4 Mopars FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
  6. bobscuda67

    bobscuda67 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    I resize my pictures using Microsoft paint. It's really easy to do.
     
  7. ILLDuster74

    ILLDuster74 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Location:
    Roscoe (P Coltrane) IL
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    Is it a windows 8 computer? Cuz 8 sucks
     
  8. norshorblufish

    norshorblufish By the Big Water

    Messages:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    First off is it a PC or a Apple Mac?
    PC: Does the computer have Windows Live Photo Gallery on it?
    Go to edit tab there you should find a resize tab.

    As far as a Mac I have no idea what that has.

    Hope this helps. They may have changed things in Windows 8 .
     
  9. Demon416

    Demon416 A-Body

    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    WI.
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    I wouldn't touch Windows 8 with a ten foot pole! Although I'm sure there's a way for him to upload photos.
     
  10. Daves69

    Daves69 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,226
    Likes Received:
    2248
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    WestOfChi
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
  11. WRB426

    WRB426 Insane 4 Mopars FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    Thanks for the advice. I went from windows 8 to 8.1 I just need to spend some time learning this new crap. Plus I have a friend when he has a chance will help me figure out this crap.
     
  12. '73red-duster

    '73red-duster FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,582
    Likes Received:
    6289
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Fair Grove,Mo.
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    Bought a new laptop when my old one died. Yep, Windows 8, and yeah, I hate it. I'm at an age, that I don't want to HAVE to learn new things. By the time, I learn how to use this program, sure enough, they will change it again.
     
  13. abodyjoe

    abodyjoe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    19,735
    Likes Received:
    4286
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin,N.J. 08009
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    first go here and download the free program.. http://www.irfanview.com/


    this is for doing a single picture at a time.. you can do an entire folder with this program also. i'll get to that later..lol

    1) open the program
    2) drag the pic you want to resize into the window of infanview. it will look like this..

    [​IMG]



    3) at the top of the page click on image. then goto resize/resample.

    [​IMG]


    4) then when the window opens make sure everything looks like it does where my yellow arrows are. you can actually put any number in the "set new size" section and play with different size pics. but 640x480 is a good internet size.

    [​IMG]

    5) click save and pick a place you want to save it.. and your done.. :)
     
  14. abodyjoe

    abodyjoe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    19,735
    Likes Received:
    4286
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin,N.J. 08009
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    ok to do an entire folder of pics at one time. its fast as hell too...


    1) open infan view program.

    2) click on "file" at the top of the page, then on "batch conversion/rename.."

    [​IMG]

    3) click the "look in" drop down menu and find the folder witht he pics you want to resize.

    [​IMG]


    4) click on the folder and open it. (you'll see all the pics in th efolder in that lil window) click on add all (circled in blue).

    5) click browse ( red arrow) and find where you want to put the pictures. i usually put a cropped folder inside the original folder to keep everything separate.

    6) click on advanced (green arrow)

    [​IMG]


    7) after you hit on advanced make sure everything looks like this.. where it says "set new size" (black arrow) just put the size pic you want there. make sure "overwrite existing files" is NOT checked (circled in green).

    [​IMG]


    8) hit OK. then start batch and it will resize the pics and put them in the folder you selected.. :)



    .
     
  15. TrailBeast

    TrailBeast Slightly Twisted Member

    Messages:
    19,919
    Likes Received:
    6559
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    Nice job Joe.
    I'm sure this will help a lot of people.
     
  16. toolmanmike

    toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    40,032
    Likes Received:
    22830
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    Thanks Joe. Looks like a great program. I like the option to resize a whole folder. This will be a help to all! tmm
     
  17. WRB426

    WRB426 Insane 4 Mopars FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    MA
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    Cool! Thanks Joe. Of course my modem just crapped out. Now I have to fix this first. Dam it!!!
     
  18. abodyjoe

    abodyjoe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    19,735
    Likes Received:
    4286
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin,N.J. 08009
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    No problem guys. It's a great program. Super easy to use. Best of all it's free. :)
     
  19. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    52,886
    Likes Received:
    20654
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    If you hate it, throw it in the ditch.
     
  20. Gear_Jammer

    Gear_Jammer Banned

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    Local Time:
    7:12 PM
    What's your favorite porn site?
     
  21. '73red-duster

    '73red-duster FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,582
    Likes Received:
    6289
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Fair Grove,Mo.
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    Good idea Rusty, but first I have to find a laptop with a previous system, or I won't be able to come here.
     
  22. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    39,772
    Likes Received:
    7395
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    What did you "used to" use? What happened to that computer? For example, (regardless of what Microshaft says) you can pull the product key off your old Winhozed 7 machine sticker (so long as you no longer use it) and re-install Winhozed 7 using that product key. "Of course" you need the Windhozed 7 media WHICH YOU CAN DOWNLOAD!!!!!

    Hell I've got one machine here I paid 40 bucks for ......JUST FOR a Winhoared 7 pro key!!!!
     
  23. 805moparkid

    805moparkid SS And AFX Worker Bee

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    no kidding... Start8 is 5 bucks and goes back to the windows 7 layout. much better.
     
  24. '73red-duster

    '73red-duster FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,582
    Likes Received:
    6289
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Fair Grove,Mo.
    Local Time:
    6:12 PM
    The last one was windows 7. ( It crashed) Biggest complaint I have with 8, no start menu. I did see on the news that Microsoft may add a start menu to a future update.
     
  25. bighammer

    bighammer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    115
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Oregon
    Local Time:
    4:12 PM
    Too late now, since you have already made your purchase, but from the sounds of things, you mostly use your computer for web browsing. I would have recommended an iPad. Much faster and simpler to use than a full blown computer.

    I rarely get on my computer anymore unless I need to access one of my programs like Quickbooks. I know this is not the right solution for everybody, but for web browsing, email Facebook, whatever, it is great.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.