I tell ya guys, it's awesome living next door to a retired fabricator/welder guy.

-

RSie

Idiot In Training
Reaction score
My neighbor, cutting pieces out of my Dart parts car. He had already zipped out the rear end for me. He's making yard/garden art out of the leftover pieces.. he wanted the center hump for a dragonfly body. He took the roof skin for the dragonfly wings :)

IMGP6142.jpg

That's his boy watching with the hose, and making sure **** doesn't go haywire. :)

Burning without goggles. Brilliant!
Agreed 100%.
I don't want to sound negative, but if he was a retired tradesman, he should know better and set an example.
FWIW, I am also a welder/fabricator by trade and can count on half the fingers on one hand how many times i did that, and that was before i went to trade school and knew better.
In my opinion, the guy is an idiot.
I met a lot of ''tradesmen'' in my day that would cut without goggles, weld without gloves, or even a proper helmet because they were ''tough'' and didn't need that ''wimpy stuff''.
Also, don't get me started on people torching apart and using good parts cars as ''yard, lawn, wall art''..............
(Yes, this picked off a scab).

I knew a guy that never used a welding helmet. Closed his eyes when striking an arc.
He was crazy though.

I knew a guy that never used a welding helmet. Closed his eyes when striking an arc.
He was crazy though.

That is crazy. Never understood why people don’t wear proper ppe. My last job consistent of fabricating and welding aftermarket suspension products, we even had a robot later on. Some days I’d run it. Even if you’re working with the robot you’d still have to wear a helmet as if you were the one welding. Spent the day Loading parts and working with the robot. Next day my eyes were killing me. I paid more attention next time. It turns out the robot produced such an arc that the light would reflect off of objects in the shop and flash your eyes that way.