Incremental body and paint advise

-

mike240

Reaction score
I am going to hand sand my car to bare metal. Very solid car and no panel work and rust through issues. I do not want to put the metal through the sandblast process and have the time to do it by hand.

Since I want to protect the bare metal asap and will only work a panel at the time, is it okay to use Eastwood 2k epoxy primer in the spray can/bomb? Then later do my filler if and when needed followed by a building filler primer on the same brand of the paint to be applied?

Thanks.

Personally, I wouldn't use rattle can primer on something I cared about. If you have an air compressor, buy some epoxy primer from Southern Polyurethane to seal up you metal when you get the old paint sanded off. You can buy one of the cheap Harbor Freight purple spray guns to apply it with. Your plan of attack sounds good, but I personally would hesitate to use the rattle can primer. I am not a professional painter but experienced enough to do my own paint and body work. Maybe some of the pro painters like @67Dart440GT will chime in when they get a chance. Good luck with your project.
Automotive Refinishing | United States | Southern Polyurethanes

:thumbsup:

Sounds like a good plan to me.
Just remember, most direct to metal products require aggressive tooth for good bonding. The finest I like is #80. Sandblasted is the best profile. Keep us post on your progress.