Intake air tube size?

New Hemi Engine Swaps

6.4 hemi air intake tube size?

  1. Stock 3.5"

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 4"

    3 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. CurtDawg510

    CurtDawg510 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    Hayward, ca
    Local Time:
    2:31 AM
    hey people, so im putting a 6.4 in my 70 duster... its almost done...
    Engine has MMX nsr cam, ported throttle body, tti headers to 3" exhaust, x pipe magnaflows and to the bumper, mopar controler, and will be dyno tuned with HP tuners..
    The last thing i gotta build is some sort of air intake system...i was kinda thinkin of goin all out here.
    My plans are to build a 12" wide by 10" front to back, and about 14"-16" deep box... i will cut a square in my inner fender on drivers side next to radiator and sink the box in... now it will also attach to the front radiator support to catch all its fresh air right behind the parking light... i will open up radiator support for air inlet.... the top of the box will have a removable top, with maybe clear plastic window... and also the box will be insulated for heat...
    I got a huge afe filter for a diesel (4" inlet), so i figure i got the flow their.

    Here is my question, should i use a 4" air tube from throttle body to filter? Or should it stay 3.5" then upsize at filter??
    I ask this cuz i heard the air temp sensor may be effected cuz it dont have the air speed across it if i run the 4" tube...
    I figure, give the engine air with the 4" tube, but i dont wanna mess with that air temp sensor when tuneing

    Thank you

    491D8155-1032-4242-80B6-3B975BD8A453.jpeg

    C1BC0B33-D29E-41A2-8AC9-812F4F36FE99.jpeg

    719EC781-2B35-45C8-84AA-D2B155CFD0C0.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • RealWing

      RealWing FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      710
      Likes Received:
      167
      Joined:
      Jun 14, 2010
      Location:
      Ontario
      Local Time:
      5:31 AM
      4" tube on my 6.1. Spectre Performance 97991


      IMG_3839_1280x719.JPG IMG_4395_1280x719.JPG
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • CurtDawg510

        CurtDawg510 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        95
        Likes Received:
        29
        Joined:
        Nov 18, 2013
        Location:
        Hayward, ca
        Local Time:
        2:31 AM
        Cool, looks like ill run 4"
        Thanx
        And your setup looks nice, kinda goin for somethin similar
         
      • CurtDawg510

        CurtDawg510 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        95
        Likes Received:
        29
        Joined:
        Nov 18, 2013
        Location:
        Hayward, ca
        Local Time:
        2:31 AM
        Where do you get your air from??
        I was thinkin of makin a 4" hole where the small hole is for turn signal, then seal the box lid, so its like ram air....maybe a coupple removable luvers to keep rain off the filter with a small drain hole in corner of air box..
        Is this simmilar to your setup?
         
      • RealWing

        RealWing FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        710
        Likes Received:
        167
        Joined:
        Jun 14, 2010
        Location:
        Ontario
        Local Time:
        5:31 AM
        Very similar. I opened up the existing hole in the rad support a bit and added a rain baffle in front of the air filter that I fastened to the top cover..
         
      • CurtDawg510

        CurtDawg510 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        95
        Likes Received:
        29
        Joined:
        Nov 18, 2013
        Location:
        Hayward, ca
        Local Time:
        2:31 AM
        Perfect, sounds like im on the right track then... thank you very much for your input!
         
      • RealWing

        RealWing FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        710
        Likes Received:
        167
        Joined:
        Jun 14, 2010
        Location:
        Ontario
        Local Time:
        5:31 AM
        Just noticed you live in Hayward. We were close to you when we did Route 66 a couple of years ago. Stayed at Walnut Creek for a couple of days on the way back home to Canada. Took the BART into San Francisco.
        Jim
         
      • CurtDawg510

        CurtDawg510 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        95
        Likes Received:
        29
        Joined:
        Nov 18, 2013
        Location:
        Hayward, ca
        Local Time:
        2:31 AM
        Yup im in hayward, walnut creek is about 30 min away from me...small world!
        I drive my car all over the bay area, well all of california and oregon... once this 6.4/t-56 is in, i plan on driving from california to new york, down to florida and back home.... its gunna be a fun trip!
         
        • Like Like x 1
        1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.