Is a '69 AMX considered a mopar A-body?

-

cojohnso

Reaction score
Looking at a possible next project. I don't know alot about AMX. But am intrigued of its history. The 390 is gone. Now has a 360. (Which also confuses me. How come a Mopar SB where a mid Ford once sat?)

00g0g_cqgUdaD1Yra_1200x900.jpg

Unless someone swapped in a mopar 360 in, it's probably an AMC 360.

The AMC 390 is also very different than a Ford 390. It most likely had an AMC 390

Unless someone swapped in a mopar 360 in, it's probably an AMC 360.

The AMC 390 is also very different than a Ford 390. It most likely had an AMC 390
See. I learned something new in 5 min. But the 360 distributor is in Mopar 360 location. Was AMC the same?

One quick way to tell if it is a mopar 360 or an AMC 360 is look where the distributor is located.

Even better post some engine compartment pics :)

It is NOT a mopar A body BTW

I'm guessing trying to find an AMC 390 will be a nightmare?

Oh. And I have no SB experience. I'm on my 2nd GTX. All my Mopars BB. so yes, big gap in knowledge base

No. It's not even technically a Mopar. It's an American Motors Product. The only reason people claim American Motors products as Mopar is because the Chrysler corporation bought out American Motors so they could get the Jeep brand.

It could still be a 390 but that for SURE is an AMC engine.

If you look behind the motor mount you will see numbers corresponding with engine size.

ALL amc engines are small block and all appear similar, kinda like pontiacs. Only true way to know is look behind the motor mounts

engineblockID3.jpg

It could still be a 390 but that for SURE is an AMC engine.

If you look behind the motor mount you will see numbers corresponding with engine size.

ALL amc engines are small block and all appear similar, kinda like pontiacs. Only true way to know is look behind the motor mounts

View attachment 1715360772
That makes sense. Then it is very different than Ford 390.