It's magic!

-

canyncarvr

Reaction score
I've been running a 'blue' ignition box for a few years. Got it from the bay. I don't know what it is or where it came from. It works, the car ran fine.

I have a VDO white-face tach that I am fond of. The thing started getting flaky a couple years ago. The needle would jump around at lower RPM mostly and at higher RPM a good bit. When the car died, TU no start/run just out of the driveway, I found that the car DID start/run when the tach was disconnected. OK. My used-to-be-flaky tach has a real problem.

My blue box died recently. I put in a Standard LX-101 box I got from the bay. The module came in a Standard box, has a Standard label, probably is a 'real' Standard module.

Car starts/runs fine.

BUT...my MAC Tools ignition tester said the spark is a bit hotter. I've never trusted the MAC tool to do anything but tell me 'something' is in the wires. Still, the higher readings piqued my curiosity a bit. I hooked the VDO back up: It's perfect. Solid as a rock.

I tried for months to find someone to 'fix' the VDO. A repair outfit VDO referred me to didn't bother replying to any query. A second repair outfit said it would cost more to fix it than to buy a new tach. That tach isn't available any longer.

I've run with no tach for years...and it was the ignition module?

That's my story. At least for this afternoon.

Last edited:
I recall long ago I had a similar problem, tach started acting erratically, engine started to miss, then after I had shut it down, it would not restart. Seems that the tach shorted out internally, fried the coil and ignition module, tossed the tach and never had another problem.

Perfectly reasonable why a tach attached to coil- would/could screw up anything in the ignition system.

My VDO is maybe just behaving for the short-term. It's been flaky for years, every time I've tried it (hoping something fixed itself) it's been flaky...with the blue box.