Junk equiss gauges?

Mopar General Discussions

  1. MerlinsMopar

    MerlinsMopar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    397
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Location:
    Middletown Pa
    Local Time:
    5:03 PM
    Was out for a putt in the barracuda and noticed my oil psi was up past 80 and hitting the 90psi range at the end of my ride so it got me thinking why it was so high. Normally 65 to 75 psi range. So I just parked it becoming frustrated. Then today I went to assess the issue and noticed the gauge was at 20psi and hadn' t started it yet.
    Total junk!
    I'm gonna look into some mopar gauges to replace em. Anyone thinking of buying the equiss gauges, stay away. Waste of money.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • 1963dartgt

      1963dartgt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      806
      Likes Received:
      343
      Joined:
      Nov 7, 2015
      Location:
      Kansas
      Local Time:
      4:03 PM
      It happens with parts store stuff. I happened to be on ebay and picked up a full set of brand new classic instrument gauges for $120. Made in USA and have never let me down. Keep an eye out for good deals they are out there.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Lord Sparky

        Lord Sparky Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        429
        Likes Received:
        302
        Joined:
        Dec 2, 2019
        Location:
        Carlsbad, California
        Local Time:
        2:03 PM
        I think you mean Equus?
         
        • Agree Agree x 4
        • RustyRatRod

          RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          69,322
          Likes Received:
          43858
          Joined:
          Jun 7, 2010
          Location:
          Georgia
          Local Time:
          5:03 PM
          I've sold and used a lot of them and never seen or had an issue. I've also seen bad Auto Meter stuff too. All of it's made in China now so they probably all come out of the same factory.
           
          • Agree Agree x 6
          • 1963dartgt

            1963dartgt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            806
            Likes Received:
            343
            Joined:
            Nov 7, 2015
            Location:
            Kansas
            Local Time:
            4:03 PM
            Classic Instruments Home
            Pricey but hand made in USA. Like i said when i bought mine they guy had a ton of spelling errors in his ad. I lucked out and he was pissed. Took him three weeks and paypal and ebay to get involved before they finally showed up.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • toolmanmike

              toolmanmike FABO MODERATOR Staff Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              57,071
              Likes Received:
              43680
              Joined:
              Jan 18, 2006
              Location:
              Iowa
              Local Time:
              4:03 PM
              I love "back in the day" quotes: I sold Sun Super Tach's and Stewart Warner gauges. Oh, those were the days!
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • RustyRatRod

                RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                69,322
                Likes Received:
                43858
                Joined:
                Jun 7, 2010
                Location:
                Georgia
                Local Time:
                5:03 PM
                145 bucks for a single 2 5/8 temperature gauge. Yeah. Phukk that.
                 
                • Agree Agree x 3
                • 1963dartgt

                  1963dartgt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  806
                  Likes Received:
                  343
                  Joined:
                  Nov 7, 2015
                  Location:
                  Kansas
                  Local Time:
                  4:03 PM
                  They have 6 gauge set for $500. But like i said you can get good quality gauges anywhere. They are designed in house,built in house and if you have a problem their tech support is the guys who build these things. Id never have the cash to drop brand new but i got lucky and id suggest to anyone wanting quality,hand built stuff. Also for the record ive got a couple equus the pod sets in a couple cars. Ive only had problems with one volt gauge.
                   
                  • Agree Agree x 1
                  • RustyRatRod

                    RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    69,322
                    Likes Received:
                    43858
                    Joined:
                    Jun 7, 2010
                    Location:
                    Georgia
                    Local Time:
                    5:03 PM
                    I'm sure they're nice but crappage, all I'd have money for is like 5 gauges just throwed in the floor. lol
                     
                  • 1963dartgt

                    1963dartgt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    806
                    Likes Received:
                    343
                    Joined:
                    Nov 7, 2015
                    Location:
                    Kansas
                    Local Time:
                    4:03 PM
                    Haha i told my wife the gauges are about $700 so that brings the total value of my dart to $600 and a half eaten big mac:rofl:
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                    • 1963dartgt

                      1963dartgt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      806
                      Likes Received:
                      343
                      Joined:
                      Nov 7, 2015
                      Location:
                      Kansas
                      Local Time:
                      4:03 PM
                      Hell my speedo doesnt work because i cant afford the $250 gps sending unit,but it sure does look pretty sitting there.
                       
                    • RustyRatRod

                      RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      69,322
                      Likes Received:
                      43858
                      Joined:
                      Jun 7, 2010
                      Location:
                      Georgia
                      Local Time:
                      5:03 PM
                      Now that's some funny chit.
                       
                      • Agree Agree x 1
                      • ocdart

                        ocdart Inland Mopars Car Club FABO Gold Member

                        Messages:
                        9,543
                        Likes Received:
                        2850
                        Joined:
                        Nov 5, 2006
                        Location:
                        North OC, SoCal
                        Local Time:
                        2:03 PM
                        About Us

                        SPEEDHUT - Made in the USA and a lifetime warranty
                         
                        • Like Like x 2
                        • dano

                          dano Evil Handy Man

                          Messages:
                          3,618
                          Likes Received:
                          1486
                          Joined:
                          Aug 22, 2005
                          Location:
                          Gresham, Oregon
                          Local Time:
                          2:03 PM
                          Ive had an Autometer boost and Autogauge mechanical water gauges go bad. The Equus tach in my now sold truck would work then quit.
                           
                        • MerlinsMopar

                          MerlinsMopar Well-Known Member

                          Messages:
                          372
                          Likes Received:
                          397
                          Joined:
                          Jun 6, 2014
                          Location:
                          Middletown Pa
                          Local Time:
                          5:03 PM
                          Yep. My tach glitches for some reason too, now that you mentioned that.
                          Damn it! I hate replacing new stuff. Those Stewart Warner gauges were good ones tho. About the best that You could get, back in the ole days.
                          Another issue is when they are new but sat on the shelf for a year during the build.
                           
                        • pishta

                          pishta I know I'm right....

                          Messages:
                          19,404
                          Likes Received:
                          8770
                          Joined:
                          Oct 13, 2004
                          Location:
                          Tustin, CA
                          Local Time:
                          2:03 PM
                          the vacuum guages and probably the pressure stuff too is usually a curved hollow pipe that when pressurized (or de-pressurized) curls up and in turn, turns a small gear that turns the needle. I have a SW vacuum guage like that and it registered 4" vacuum at rest. I pulled the rack away from the needle pinion and jumped a few teeth and now it reads 0. pulled 10" with my old gauged mighty-vac and it registered 10 so I think they may be 'workable' if you take the face off, and maybe 2 phillips screws in the back. I recall you can manually bend the little tube also to zero the gauge if jumping a tooth is not practical.
                           
                          • Agree Agree x 2
                          • DrCharles

                            DrCharles Well-Known Member

                            Messages:
                            1,163
                            Likes Received:
                            936
                            Joined:
                            Jun 7, 2012
                            Location:
                            West Plains, Mo.
                            Local Time:
                            4:03 PM
                            Yep, called a Bourdon tube. ;)
                            But if it changed calibration on its own, what's to say it won't do it again tomorrow?
                             
                            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                            • barracudadave67

                              barracudadave67 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                              Messages:
                              1,223
                              Likes Received:
                              526
                              Joined:
                              May 22, 2004
                              Location:
                              Burlington, Wi.
                              Local Time:
                              4:03 PM
                              I have Equus gages in my 66, they work with no complaints. I believe that Equus is owned, or part of Auto Meter Gages.
                              Could happen to any name brand gage.
                              Dave
                               
                            • beanhead

                              beanhead Well-Known Member

                              Messages:
                              231
                              Likes Received:
                              254
                              Joined:
                              May 21, 2017
                              Location:
                              wackyfornia
                              Local Time:
                              2:03 PM
                              I didn't know Auto Meter owned Equus, but they have bought up several over the last few years. FWIW the Auto meter tach in my '68 is USA made, and dumazz me cracked the glass before putting it in. I installed it anyway figuring I would use it for the summer and then see about having them repair it. I finally got around to it after about a year, and when I contacted them to see what they would charge, they wouldn't have it. They fixed it for free and I had it back in just about 2 weeks, they even covered the shipping. Good customer service.
                               
                            • famous bob

                              famous bob mopar misfit

                              Messages:
                              18,902
                              Likes Received:
                              8136
                              Joined:
                              Aug 14, 2011
                              Location:
                              okla
                              Local Time:
                              4:03 PM
                              AGREE, CHEAPEST DAM GAUGES ON THE PLANET , I still have a couple in my car that work, the others have been replaces w/ something else. I have a equis oil pressure gauge in the car , and to double check , another under the hood , their temp gauges seem to be the worst .
                               
                            • ir3333

                              ir3333 Well-Known Member

                              Messages:
                              4,844
                              Likes Received:
                              1369
                              Joined:
                              Jun 1, 2008
                              Location:
                              ontario,canada
                              Local Time:
                              4:03 PM
                              i chased an over heating problem for some time years ago.210 plus idling in heat..not real hot but concerning.Tried a new equus temp gauge (the second new one) just to be sure and there was no change.
                              Bought a new rad and still ran "a little hot at 200 plus.Then i purchased a new Stewart Warner Temp gauge and the Dart never went over 190 from that point on. Lesson learned!
                              i have had failures with bottom line auto meter tachs as well.
                               
                              Last edited: Aug 16, 2020
                            1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.