Just a precaution on rebuilt 904 transmission

Transmission and Drivetrain Tech

  1. InRogue

    InRogue Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Local Time:
    9:34 PM
    I'll try to keep this short. I bought a 318 with a 904 to put in my Rambler, yes an American Rambler....anyway I rebuilt the 318 but not the 904 as the previous owner said it was good. I changed fluids, and filter and set the kick down attached to Carter AFB....well it lasted about 50 miles. I ended up replacing the transmission with a rebuilt TCI unit. My question is...I want to make sure I have the K/D cable hooked up right before I drive off, so I already bought a Edelbrock Mopar linkage arm to attach to the carb to make sure the ratio is right, seemed like it was before?. To adjust with a cable do I just make sure at WOT the cable is pulling the trans arm all the way open? What about at idle....no free play? Picture of the vehicle. 20200222_124328.jpg 20200222_124310.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 8
    • toolmanmike

      toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      46,893
      Likes Received:
      31167
      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2006
      Location:
      Iowa
      Local Time:
      8:34 PM
      Nice American but we need to see your carb linkage/kickdown adjustment.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • InRogue

        InRogue Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        51
        Likes Received:
        26
        Joined:
        Feb 2, 2019
        Location:
        Winter Park, FL
        Local Time:
        9:34 PM
        Yeah I guess I should have included those pix, I'm about done with the install, here's the picture of the original hook up on carb, haven't hooked up the Edelbrock arm, and I have an excess hole in the floor for the linkage....it's tight. 20200325_194920.jpg 20200325_195005.jpg
         
      • thesiren74

        thesiren74 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,125
        Likes Received:
        690
        Joined:
        Feb 23, 2014
        Location:
        kenosha,wi
        Local Time:
        8:34 PM
        Mine has a little free play otherwise it won't shift forever.
         
      • thesiren74

        thesiren74 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,125
        Likes Received:
        690
        Joined:
        Feb 23, 2014
        Location:
        kenosha,wi
        Local Time:
        8:34 PM
        Do you have pics of the engine bay? I have a buddy with 4 of those Americans from a 290 that looks a lot like yours and a grudge car that's a 434 sb chevy turbo car.
         
      • thesiren74

        thesiren74 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,125
        Likes Received:
        690
        Joined:
        Feb 23, 2014
        Location:
        kenosha,wi
        Local Time:
        8:34 PM
        46b44cebc3e5b3abcb470184b0b380f0.jpg
         
        • Like Like x 5
        • InRogue

          InRogue Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          51
          Likes Received:
          26
          Joined:
          Feb 2, 2019
          Location:
          Winter Park, FL
          Local Time:
          9:34 PM
          Sure I do Dec23:19.jpeg sideshot.jpeg
           
          • Like Like x 4
          • 66fyssh

            66fyssh Don't Stop Believin' FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            4,834
            Likes Received:
            3507
            Joined:
            Jun 22, 2013
            Location:
            Northwest GA
            Local Time:
            9:34 PM
            I use the original solid rod throttle pressure linkage and have just a very slight bit of freeplay.
             
          • toolmanmike

            toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            46,893
            Likes Received:
            31167
            Joined:
            Jan 18, 2006
            Location:
            Iowa
            Local Time:
            8:34 PM
            What does the instructions say about adjustment? It is similar looking to the tv cable on my 96 Dakota. At rest you adjust the cable so it just snaps onto the pin. No slack or no stretch.
             
          • TrailBeast

            TrailBeast Slightly Twisted Member

            Messages:
            20,739
            Likes Received:
            7871
            Joined:
            Mar 11, 2011
            Location:
            Arizona
            Local Time:
            6:34 PM
            The basics are that when the throttle is wide open the TP is at full travel also.
            It can be tuned to taste if you want.
            In my case I have a small clamp on my cable to keep it from returning all the way back down.
            This raises my shift points a little over the stock lowest light throttle setting but still allows full throttle travel without hitting the end of the TP cable travel first.
            The red dot is where the little clamp is on the cable.

            TP.jpg
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • CudaFactHackJob

              CudaFactHackJob FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              901
              Likes Received:
              305
              Joined:
              Mar 17, 2016
              Location:
              Hemet, Ca.
              Local Time:
              8:34 PM
              Those teeter-totter return springs will wear out the throttle shaft.
               
            • InRogue

              InRogue Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              51
              Likes Received:
              26
              Joined:
              Feb 2, 2019
              Location:
              Winter Park, FL
              Local Time:
              9:34 PM
              What would you recommend then?
               
            • InRogue

              InRogue Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              51
              Likes Received:
              26
              Joined:
              Feb 2, 2019
              Location:
              Winter Park, FL
              Local Time:
              9:34 PM
              Instructions say to open carb WOT and set the KD cable to do the same. That's what I did, just making sure though I would ask for others opinions.


              Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 7.31.27 AM.png Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 7.32.10 AM.png
               
            • thesiren74

              thesiren74 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,125
              Likes Received:
              690
              Joined:
              Feb 23, 2014
              Location:
              kenosha,wi
              Local Time:
              8:34 PM
            • CudaFactHackJob

              CudaFactHackJob FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              901
              Likes Received:
              305
              Joined:
              Mar 17, 2016
              Location:
              Hemet, Ca.
              Local Time:
              8:34 PM
              Go from that big top hoe to a front bracket.
               
            • InRogue

              InRogue Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              51
              Likes Received:
              26
              Joined:
              Feb 2, 2019
              Location:
              Winter Park, FL
              Local Time:
              9:34 PM
              Okay everything is finished an took it for its main voyage, I ended up adjusting the cable with no free play, shift from 1st to 2nd okay but 3rd is a little late....at 30mph in the hood it wants to stay in 2nd. When should it shift at light load?, or even will it. Can you increase cable adjustment to shift sooner or? Oh and by the was I had a 36 tooth gear in the trans and it was off, changed to a 38 now its 5mph high....do they make a 37?
               
            • CudaFactHackJob

              CudaFactHackJob FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              901
              Likes Received:
              305
              Joined:
              Mar 17, 2016
              Location:
              Hemet, Ca.
              Local Time:
              8:34 PM
              I can't believe they sell a bracket with a return spring in that location; totally dumb.
               
            • TrailBeast

              TrailBeast Slightly Twisted Member

              Messages:
              20,739
              Likes Received:
              7871
              Joined:
              Mar 11, 2011
              Location:
              Arizona
              Local Time:
              6:34 PM
              If you are referring to the pic I posted that's not my car.
              Just a reference pic I got off the net for cable TP.
               
            • CudaFactHackJob

              CudaFactHackJob FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              901
              Likes Received:
              305
              Joined:
              Mar 17, 2016
              Location:
              Hemet, Ca.
              Local Time:
              8:34 PM
              It was in response to the op's pic, but they're the same kit; it looks like.
               
            • 67 gt

              67 gt A Wog boy who loves his Mopars ! FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              917
              Likes Received:
              512
              Joined:
              Nov 9, 2011
              Location:
              Down under
              Local Time:
              12:34 PM
              Watch out on those Lokars throttle brackets when I had my kick down connected which I could never get right ended going full manual valve body anyway. It would flex a lot when kd cable pulled and would loose up to 1/4 inch throttle. Plate would flex as there’s no ribbing to stiffen Material is made of play doe and is reliant on that rear carb stud to hold it in place . What they charge you would think it could be made better.
               
            • C130 Chief

              C130 Chief Mechanical Genius

              Messages:
              3,016
              Likes Received:
              158
              Joined:
              Nov 23, 2005
              Location:
              Boise, ID
              Local Time:
              7:34 PM
              Long story short, with the carb wide open, the lever on the transmission should be at full travel. That is, they both hit the stops at the same time. I would resist "tuning" it from there with the TP linkage (too bad line pressure isn't adjustable externally).

              A lot of the wives tales about "tuning shift points" started in 82 when GM brought out the TH700R4 with an adjustable throttle cable, and poor guidance. Instead of continuing to set them up like TH350's (full travel at full throttle), even dealership mechanics started monkeying with the adjustment, causing all sorts of trouble. The transmission got an early reputation for being "fragile" that it probably didn't totally deserve.
               
            • InRogue

              InRogue Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              51
              Likes Received:
              26
              Joined:
              Feb 2, 2019
              Location:
              Winter Park, FL
              Local Time:
              9:34 PM
              I dont have that Lokar bracket, actually the one I have came from an s10 aftermarket site...its nice, bolts to both rear studs. I used that diagram for reference.
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • fishy68

                fishy68 Tyr Fryr's Inc. FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                16,907
                Likes Received:
                900
                Joined:
                Jan 11, 2005
                Location:
                Central, IL (Hooterville)
                Local Time:
                8:34 PM
                Sweet Rogue. My Pop has a 64 American. Your adjusting it correctly. If it shifts a little late loosen up the cable 1 turn at a time until you get it right. BTW: I've noticed some guys trashing the Lokar cable setup but I've used numerous ones on different cars and have one on my personal car and have put almost 35000 miles on it and it hasn't worn out the carb shaft. I admit the factory setup won't wear on the carb as much, I'm just saying the Lokar won't wear it out real fast

                20170901_145822.jpg
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                  By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.