Knife Sharpeners

-

ramcharger

Dismember
Reaction score
I can use a stone and that's what I was trained on 45 years ago, but this thing is amazing. I've had it for over 5 years and only had to buy a one belt set but the old belts are still functional and I use them for a super fine finish edge.

I still have stones of course, but I own more than a few knives with D2 tool steel blades and what used to take hours now takes minutes. I'm really hard on my EDC knives since I now work in a factory assembling and machining heavy commercial machinery so I'm cutting heavy, heavy cardboard, thick plastic anti-corrosion sheeting as well as multiple layers of plastic (saran wrap type) and lesser, softer steels like 440C and AUS8 require sharpening once a week. D2 will last a couple month until I notice enough a degradation that it slows me down.

Anyway, it's the Worksharp Ken Onion Edition and it's a beast. My knives are so sharp that if one gets loose, I just jump back and let it hit the concrete floor. Ain't no way in hell am I going to try to catch it. They are just as sharp as a box cutter blade, and some would say sharper.

IMG_4740.JPG

IMG_4742.JPG

i'm not one for gimmicks...but i'll tell you the "Speedy Sharp" is truly unbelievable. Whether it's your hunting gear, lawn mower blade or rusty old axe!

i'm not one for gimmicks...but i'll tell you the "Speedy Sharp" is truly unbelievable. Whether it's your hunting gear, lawn mower blade or rusty old axe!
Oh yeah, they do work, and I use some something similar for my brush machete, but never on my fine knives. They do literally peel the steel, lol but it just slicks off D2 or S30V. Having said that, I have one in my go bag just in case.

I just cant get my self to spend the coin on one yet but I do hear good things about them.

Same with Boker knives. My cousin has a few and I looked at a lot but for some reason very few are ambidextrous / left handed.