Learning to paint....

-

Cuda416

Reaction score
Ok, folks. Just a couple of simple questions, with a ton of not-so-simple answers.....

How did you learn to paint cars?
How have you evolved as a painter since your "early" days?

I want to learn to paint and although I don't think it's beyond me, I know there's more that I don't know, than I do and nothing will replace experience.

I plan on "fixing" a dented truck fender and practicing on it. But aside from that, if you were ever wanting to teach someone to paint, well, here's your chance.

-=C

tons of good info on u tube...
Yup, seen a lot of them and lots of varying opinions etc. I've seen the work and results from people who post here and do things in the garage and I'm amazed. Not going to get the "wisdom" of these folks in a 10 or 20 minute video.
-=C

I'm still learning myself, and decided to stick to pretty much one You Tube guy....and that's Gunman in Australia. I've learned a lot from watching his videos. On the advice of @Alex5280 , I bought a Devilbis Tekna Pro Lite spray gun a few years ago. It was one of the best tool investments that I've ever made. I use it to spray base and clear only. It just takes practice, and watching every move you make with the gun to get good results. The most recent thing I painted was the Leer truck cap for my wife's Dakota. It turned out great, even if I did do it...lol.

I'm still learning myself, and decided to stick to pretty much one You Tube guy....and that's Gunman in Australia. I've learned a lot from watching his videos. On the advice of @Alex5280 , I bought a Devilbis Tekna Pro Lite spray gun a few years ago. It was one of the best tool investments that I've ever made. I use it to spray base and clear only. It just takes practice, and watching every move you make with the gun to get good results. The most recent thing I painted was the Leer truck cap for my wife's Dakota. It turned out great, even if I did do it...lol.