Lighting gauges: proper spot to splice into dash light power?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by MRGTX, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    467
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    10:25 PM
    hey, guys. I’ve been poking around under the dash for a long time, trying to find a a good spot to splice into the dash light power for the new gauges and preferably doing so without disassembling the whole interior.

    Where do you guys suggest splicing in?

    Also, now that I’m running stuff off of relays, I am brining in a voltage gauge. Is the cigarette lighter power an acceptable le spot?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Valkman

    Valkman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    222
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    NC
    Local Time:
    11:25 PM
    There may be extra wires that have connectors on them (I believe they are solid orange) under dash for things like shift indicator lights. You could use these without any spicing. I'd get a wiring diagram for your car just to be sure.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • MRGTX

      MRGTX Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,491
      Likes Received:
      467
      Joined:
      Sep 24, 2007
      Location:
      CT, USA
      Local Time:
      10:25 PM
      Extra connectors on the factory harness? Hmm...this might work for the voltage gauge perfectly.

      I would prefer to have the gauge lights on the switch with the dash lights so they would come in together rather than running all the time. Then again, my dash lights are increasingly unreliable so I need to look at that too.
       
    • Valkman

      Valkman Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      760
      Likes Received:
      222
      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2012
      Location:
      NC
      Local Time:
      11:25 PM
      The wire I'm talking about is connected the dash light circuit. It's usually connects to lights on th column shift or the console. If your already using for that you could always use a Y connector at that connection.

      Also if you're dash lights are dim you replace LED bulbs and will brighten things up.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • d55dave

        d55dave Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,191
        Likes Received:
        689
        Joined:
        May 20, 2010
        Location:
        Kelowna, British Columbia
        Local Time:
        10:25 PM
        I usually use the orange light wire for the factory radio. If you don't want to cut the connector off you should be able to make a separate harness using spade connectors that plugs into the harness and radio with an extra wire for the gauge lights.
         
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • gdrill

          gdrill OK, now what??? Staff Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          5,684
          Likes Received:
          4600
          Joined:
          Sep 26, 2011
          Location:
          Just North of Montana
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          9:25 PM
          On the back of the fuse box there may be a spade coming off of the lighting fuse circuit. If possible, this is what I do. Combine all your gauge wires to one lead and run it to the fuse box.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • Murray

            Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            684
            Likes Received:
            292
            Joined:
            Apr 19, 2010
            Location:
            San Jose, California
            Local Time:
            8:25 PM
            Also- the orange wires are dash light circuit, radio light is a easy place to pick it up. Your cigarette lighter wire is hot all the time- is that what you want? If so-go for it!
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • d55dave

              d55dave Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              2,191
              Likes Received:
              689
              Joined:
              May 20, 2010
              Location:
              Kelowna, British Columbia
              Local Time:
              10:25 PM
              This is a good point. The cigarette lighter is always hot on these cars meaning your volt meter will always be on, and be a draw on the battery. You probably want it switched.
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • Valkman

                Valkman Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                760
                Likes Received:
                222
                Joined:
                Sep 13, 2012
                Location:
                NC
                Local Time:
                11:25 PM
                Maybe I miss understood, I thought you just wanted wire up your gauge lights, that's not where you want to connect the voltmeter, that should be wired to your ignition on circuit.
                 
              • MRGTX

                MRGTX Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                1,491
                Likes Received:
                467
                Joined:
                Sep 24, 2007
                Location:
                CT, USA
                Local Time:
                10:25 PM
                Thanks, guys! Yep. That worked. Man, the instrument lights are dim; OEM and the new gauges too. Would this be related to the instrument panel voltage regulator? Sometimes they don't come on at all until I jiggle the knob. If so, is this hard to get to? I don't have the most agile fingers.
                 
              • MRGTX

                MRGTX Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                1,491
                Likes Received:
                467
                Joined:
                Sep 24, 2007
                Location:
                CT, USA
                Local Time:
                10:25 PM
                Thanks...that makes sense. Finding that circuit is the challenge. :)
                 
              • toolmanmike

                toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                31,860
                Likes Received:
                13767
                Joined:
                Jan 18, 2006
                Location:
                Iowa
                View My Photos
                Local Time:
                10:25 PM
                • Like Like x 1
                • 67Dart273

                  67Dart273 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  37,775
                  Likes Received:
                  5414
                  Joined:
                  Oct 14, 2010
                  Location:
                  Idaho
                  View My Photos
                  Local Time:
                  8:25 PM
                  Mike I respect your posts but I disagree this might be "best." These are old girls, the fuse holders get corroded and loose, and hanging more hardware into the fuse clips is not my idea of "best." Sometimes, you just need to cut/ solder/ splice/ crimp. I know, cutting up that valuable 60 year old pristine old harness is hard, but....LOL

                  On a side note the "worst" is likely those damned "skotch locks"

                  These things should be outlawed by federal law!!

                  22EW62_AS01?$mdmain$.jpg
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Agree Agree x 1
                  • toolmanmike

                    toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    31,860
                    Likes Received:
                    13767
                    Joined:
                    Jan 18, 2006
                    Location:
                    Iowa
                    View My Photos
                    Local Time:
                    10:25 PM
                    Agreed but this is a safe way to do it with a positive connection. I would venture to say most of our fuses are original to the car and haven't been removed for years. I have never been too keen on tapping into a factory harness. I like to go to the source.
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • Agree Agree x 1
                    • gdrill

                      gdrill OK, now what??? Staff Member FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      5,684
                      Likes Received:
                      4600
                      Joined:
                      Sep 26, 2011
                      Location:
                      Just North of Montana
                      View My Photos
                      Local Time:
                      9:25 PM
                      These have been outlawed here...............................in my garage!
                      I hate repairing after these things.
                       
                      • Like Like x 1
                      • Agree Agree x 1
                      • Murray

                        Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                        Messages:
                        684
                        Likes Received:
                        292
                        Joined:
                        Apr 19, 2010
                        Location:
                        San Jose, California
                        Local Time:
                        8:25 PM
                        Wire tapping at the fuse is OK- but it should be done on the backside of the fuse holder with the proper tap.
                         
                        • Like Like x 1
                        • cheech14

                          cheech14 Member

                          Messages:
                          12
                          Likes Received:
                          0
                          Joined:
                          Sep 4, 2015
                          Location:
                          Bremerton
                          Local Time:
                          8:25 PM
                          I know this is an old thread - but just thought I would mention that if you are going to run a voltmeter, make CERTAIN that is has a fuse in the supply line. Otherwise, should you have a failure, it can leave your wiring a "hot mess"!! (nothing like an unfused hot wire grounding out - 12 volt welding anyone???)

                          Cheech14