MAD Bypass Alteration - Risk?

-

jrcr_15

Reaction score
Concerns on this wiring?

I am installing a higher amp alternator to handle the accessories on my car: Dual cooling fans, electric water pump, MSD, Fitech, Snow Water meth injection etc.

My ammeter is already removed and a voltmeter added in its place. Thoughts on this modification. Based off the MAD design.

upload_2021-6-21_21-40-42.png

Essentially:
I am going to add a fuse block between the alternator and starter relay. Then run a wire from the SR into another fuse block, bypass the bulkhead altogether and feed the accessories .

My thoughts are this would be safer as opposed to running more amps though a bulkhead connector.

Additionally, I have a new wiring harness and will be installing a new fuse block too, my wiring will be in tip top condition.

Any foreseeable risks? I believe I have it all covered, but I am no electrical expert by any stretch.

Smart thing to do for your instance! Not for all though!JMO

The way you show your voltmeter, it is powered at all times. It will draw enough that when parked for awhile, it will eventually run down the battery. Run it through the key

Why did you do away with the alternator black. If you simply bypass the ammeter, then run a large gauge FUSED (or breaker) wire direct from alternator to battery, the black and red through the bulhead then work together to feed power into the pass. bay. This adds "more wire" size and is not a bad thing.

I believe "Crackedback" on here sells those bypass wires.

The way you show your voltmeter, it is powered at all times. It will draw enough that when parked for awhile, it will eventually run down the battery. Run it through the key