master cylinder for 68 dart front disc

-

roadsterdude

Reaction score
I did a search to see what master cylinder I would need for my 68 dart.
But I'm getting conflicting answers.

My 68 Dart GT originally had Drums all the way around. It's manual brake, no power.

I did a 4 piston KH swap a long time ago for the front and I dont remember why I didn't change the Master Cylinder.

Right now the car doesn't stop very hard and the pedal is really stiff.

Should I just tell my local parts store I need a master cylinder for a 1972 Dodge Dart with front disc/ rear drum and
no power ?

Does anyone have any part number for the correct master cylinder for this combination?

Someone recommended Raybestos MC36412 and also Raybestos MC36406.

Thank You in Advance.

Here you go...

The correct master cylinder for you application is Chrysler part number 2808600 with casting number 2225541 which had a 1 inch bore and covered both manual and power disc brakes.

Rebuilders separated the master cylinder into power and manual disc brakes

Manual disc brake compatable cylinders are

101326 M Cardone
MC 36221 Raybestos
18M1019 AC Delco
UP 36221 Napa
SS4736221 Napa

Power Disc Master Cylinder

101326 Cardone

Hope this helps you out

Here you go...

The correct master cylinder for you application is Chrysler part number 2808600 with casting number 2225541 which had a 1 inch bore and covered both manual and power disc brakes.

101326 M Cardone
MC 36221 Raybestos
18M1019 AC Delco
UP 36221 Napa
SS4736221 Napa

101326 Cardone

Hope this helps you out

Wow...that definite does help me out plenty...
Thank You very much...

Looks like a typo on the casting # 2225541. It is actually 2225411 here is a chart I found

brake_chart.jpg

Looks like a typo on the casting # 2225541. It is actually 2225411 here is a chart I found

Here we go again...

The above chart for the master cylinder for the 67 to 70 with disc brakes is incorrect.