Master Cylinder Upgrade

-

mrzods13

Reaction score
I just purchased a 1974 Plymouth Duster with a 360 HP Magnum Block. It has Wilwood 10 inch discs on the front, manual brakes. The master is leaking from the lid, time for an upgrade. I read some people using the late model truck master cylinders with the dr diff adapter. Some are saying bigger bore is the way to go and some are saying smaller bore. I want to be able to stop better, I never had a car with manual brakes so I am new to all of this. This is the master with the 1 1/8" bore I was looking at with the adapter plate. Any help is appreciated thanks

12.JPG

my master cylinder is doing the same thing anyone have any ideas on how to seal it?
I replaced the cover and the don't know the name of the wire.
Still leaks from the front area.
Thanks
Dan

a lot of guys here like the 15/16 bore if you are going to run manual disc brakes, the reason being with the smaller bore size the more line pressure it generates and you get a firmer feeling pedal. i am changing over to front disc now and i am going with the 15/16 bore

I tried one like that - required way, way too much leg effort for my taste. Panic stop? Forget it.

I run a 1-1/32" Aluminum (Doctor Diff) now which is much better but could stand to be a little smaller yet. We put a 15/16" Aluminum (also from Doctor Diff) on my son's BB D100 truck with manual brakes. It works really well.

I think you be happier with something under 1".

Thank you I will see if I can get the 15/16 from drdiff.

15/16" is the way to go. I even converted my Challenger from power disks to manual disks with the 15/16" master. Better line pressure, better brake modulation and feel. The pedal stroke is slightly longer, but it's barely noticeable. Pedal effort isn't bad at all.