Mexico....we have a problem.

-

Krooser

Building Chinese Free Engines since 1959...
Reaction score
One piston must have a seven inch stroke...kinda crooked, too.
IMG_20190825_210420412.jpg
IMG_20190825_210437114.jpg

Back when I was a motorcycle mechanic, there were some racy models with really short-skirted pistons out there, and a few of 'em came to me looking like that. I think Honda had an Nseries, and there were dirtbikes , and stroker kits, and what-not. I wouldda never expected to see that in a p-car

Well one is! You know something is broke when you can see a piston ring from the top!

It's a Gen III Hemi...2006.

Looks like an overly abused engine to me.
Not from what the PO told me... driving down the road and BANG it stopped. Seen it before on these and Jeep 4.0's, too. Was in a Ram 1500... junked the truck due to rust issues and miles (190K).

No big deal really... this block will be the basis for my new dirt track motor (after I get my small block going over the winter). Likely 13/14-1 on methanol, using a 5.7 or 6.1 crank, Eagle heads, Pankl rods, mild port work, sticking with the juice lifters (new Johnson-HyLift), Jones cam, likely some stiffer pushrods, Ritter intake... just want to see what a reasonably priced Gen III can do for HP and reliability for 20 laps at a time.

Last edited:
I'll get this apart this week (working all week sucks!).

I wouldn't have messed with this but I can't get the block on a stand with the convertor on it and it won't roll over. Can't get at two convertor/flywheel bolts. Could use a heat wrench I guess...

Ran a trip to Nebraska Thursday....got back home last evening. Got the cheater bar on the crank and I'm making progress...

I will say Ive never seen an engine have this much damage. Only drained about 1 1/2 qts of oil out of the pan.