Mini starter

-

dodgy

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to these mini starters, i have two here , yes one to take on long adventures as i don't trust the longevity of these cheap units, my question is about the drain hole in the solenoid side, the one mounted has the hole facing up, and the other has the hole on the bottom side, did they drill the hole in the mounted starter wrong? Wouldn't it just catch the water and other crud, should i block this hole and drill another hole on the bottom side?

View attachment 1715412637

20191023_215753.jpg

I would think that the tube needs to be down. The one pointed up must have to be mounted on the other side of the engine.

Hi all, I'm new to these mini starters, i have two here , yes one to take on long adventures as i don't trust the longevity of these cheap units, my question is about the drain hole in the solenoid side, the one mounted has the hole facing up, and the other has the hole on the bottom side, did they drill the hole in the mounted starter wrong? Wouldn't it just catch the water and other crud, should i block this hole and drill another hole on the bottom side?

View attachment 1715412637
The silver colored starter is upside down. They should be mounted this orientation.

mini starter.jpg

Some jeep starters were mounted on the passenger side?

Some jeep starters were mounted on the passenger side?
Thanks YY1 didn't know that, that would explain that hole but not the drain hole on the motor that is facing down .

`If it were me I would seal the hole facing up. I agree with you that it would collect moisture and road dirt. I wouldn't drill a hole in the other side unless your planing on driving trough flooded deep muddy water.

`If it were me I would seal the hole facing up. I agree with you that it would collect moisture and road dirt. I wouldn't drill a hole in the other side unless your planing on driving trough flooded deep muddy water.