Mopar 340 intake gasket replacement

-

gavins1daddy

Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a 340 that I’m replacing the intake gasket on. I’m wondering if I should use the front and back corked gaskets that come with or just use RTV. Also as this is my first time doing this I was wondering if someone has a link to a video I can watch on how to do this. I’m a very visual person, I learn better from watching than reading.

Thanks

I wonder if most people know why the ends of the intake manifold are called China Walls? Yes I know the answer.

I just replaced the intake gaskets on my 318 a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t use the cork gaskets but Permatex Ultra Black instead on the China walls. Depending on the intake manifold you’ll be putting on, you might need to cut off the dowels (one on front wall and one on back wall) so the intake manifold sits properly. Also used a small amount of Ultra Black around the 4 coolant ports between the gasket and intake. On the rest of the intake gasket (both sides) I used gasgacinch.

The 4 intake manifold bolts around the base of the carb will be difficult to take out and retorque properly if you don’t have a 3/8” drive 9/16” torque adaptor. If you don’t plan on removing your distributor, that torque adaptor will also come in handy on the two intake manifold bolts that also support the throttle bracket.

Pretty straight forward. I have done it twice in the last 3 months. First time with rtv, second with cork on the walls. I like the cork better... cleaner and easier to make sure that it is sealed. Had a small leak with RTV. With the cork I was able seal it up better. This is a great couple pics from @krazykuda right here. Intake/Head Gasket Question

Ok. I read that you put some etc around coolant ports. How much? Stumblinhorse, did you do this. Also if you use the cork gaskets on the front and back do you still apply rtv in the corners?