Mopar virgin checking in with new 1969 Barracuda - with questions.... ;)

-

Hetman

Reaction score
Hi folks! It's a pleasure to be here. I am completely new to the Mopar world, having been raised in a Ford family, then I went Chevy with the purchase of a 1973 Monte Carlo in college, 25 years ago. I have always liked Mopars as well, but never owned one till now.

I bought a nice rust-free 1969 Barracuda nearly two years ago in California and have been trying to bring the fish back to its original glory. My Barracuda has an A15 code on the trim tag. In trying to research this, I was led to a thread on this forum, and I am grateful to cudamark and cosgig for the information provided on this option package. I would like to ask some questions to help me understand more about this option package. I appreciate any help, and thank you for your patience since this is my first Mopar.

My VIN: BH23F98301557

Trim tag codes: E44, D31, B3, H4B, B5, 222, 215194, A01, A04, A15, G11, G33, J25, L31, M21, R11, V6X, END

1) What is a "C" model? My car is a 2-door sedan from the looks of it. My car has a 318 and auto with column shift.

2) My car has the A01 light package, and I suppose all the power goodies and lights are present on my Barracuda. However, where would the cornering lights be found for this option package?

3) My car has lots of stainless trim and moldings but I'm not sure all of them are there for the A15 package; some of my trim was in the trunk when I bought it. I'd like to know if I'm missing something. What is a wheelhouse opening skirt? Is it stainless trim around the wheel well lip (my car has these), or a skirt covering the whole rear wheel area? Where would the body side moldings be? Are they rub strips along the side of the car where it might be bumped by other car doors, or stainless trim along the lower rocker panel area? My car has neither, but since it was repainted once, any rub strips might have been removed.