My 2 Year Old $2500 Compressor Just Died

-
Might be worth asking the motor guy what kind of PM (preventative maintenance) you can do too. A cheap clamp-on meter would allow you to check amps occasionally so that you can hopefully spot a problem before the smoke comes out. A few spare motor capacitors (if so equipped) might not be a bad idea either. I'm no motor expert, but know that those two things can go a long way toward preventing downtime.
Thanks for the idea. I am wondering if 45 minutes on and 10 or 15 off would help. I'll ask the motor repair guy when I pick the new motor up from him after I have him tweak it.

I was lucky when I got my compressor. It was manufactured locally by Ingersol Rand and was used for a quality audit where it was run for a few hours. A friend’s father was a head engineer there and I got it for $500. Two stage 5hp 60 gallon 220 volt single phase.

I was lucky when I got my compressor. It was manufactured locally by Ingersol Rand and was used for a quality audit where it was run for a few hours. A friend’s father was a head engineer there and I got it for $500. Two stage 5hp 60 gallon 220 volt single phase.
That`s what my old compressor is. This thing went through an abusive life., service station rig. Hard telling how many motors it`s been through, but currently has a USA made Dayton. I traded a buddy for a relatively new craftsman 5hp gas portable, which he said didn`t last very long. It has given me a few issues but I learned to rectify them my self, just cleaning a valve out every few years. Early 70`s model that I`ve had now for about 29 years. I`ll nurse it till a rod blows, I can`t find zero parts for it.

My cousin has a big mechanical state inspection and tire shop and he was having compressor issues. My Dad was an electrician so after he died I brought all of his old stock home so I gave my cousin one of the small 110 volt fans I had. As far as I know everything is fine now
83F79239-6410-4773-80B4-7C91BC8B1972.jpeg