My '68 Fastback 4 speed swap

-

mopardude318

Reaction score
Well, the 318/904 combo works pretty damn good... 3000 stall, shifts hard, lays rubber nicely, very responsive. Just time to go manual, I think I'd enjoy it even more. I always dream about rowin' my own gears!

So I rebuilt an A-body 4 speed, got a Hurst Comp plus shifter, new shift rods and clutch linkage from Brewers, bought this Ram Clutches 3 finger clutch and billet steel flywheel a while ago, have to paint and install my pedal assembly.

Got the rest of the parts I needed at the Spring Fling this weekend which persuaded me to go ahead with the swap...After hearing a guys 69 Dart with a mechanical cam and 4 speed, made me say, "yep, I want a 4 speed!"

I have TTI headers, so I bought their Z-bar to go with it, since I didn't have one anyway.

Any hints, tips, tricks, thoughts are welcome as I've never done this before. :happy8:

IMG_0538_zps64d2bb03.jpg

IMG_0533_zps11ee379c.jpg

IMG_0536_zpsc0537d2b.jpg

IMG_0535_zps761e4eaa.jpg

IMG_0534_zpsdf2d1452.jpg

I'll be posting updates of the progress. Not gonna start the swap until after June 2nd, I wanna take it to Mopar Rally first. I don't think I could finish before then. lol

Sick gonna drive it To mopar alley?? The install was pretty easy for me I used the Lakewood scattershield .not sure if quick time is any different but make sure your pivot bracket (frame side) is welded good snapped my welds have to reweld them other than that if you have all pieces it falls into place . Your gonna wanna romp that thing everytime you hop in it lol

Just saw bottom part. If you have all pieces you can do it in a day with an extra set of hands I'm free Tuesdays Don't forget driveshaft length is different let me know if you need help ill cruise the duster down