My hiding place!

-

gdrill

I AM
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Somebody suggested I start a thread on my shop, so here it is. I broke ground in July of 2011 and am darn near finished now. I have done most of the work myself, excluding the cement pour and finish. I also contracted the electrical as I am away from home more than I'm there and I wanted it done right. So here it is from the beginning. This a 32' X 54' slab with in floor radiant. The heat is supplied by the boiler in my house.

View attachment IMG_0199.JPG

View attachment IMG_0205.JPG

View attachment IMG_0210.JPG

View attachment IMG_0212.JPG

View attachment IMG_0215.JPG

Once the slab was complete my brother in law helped me erect the building. He is a steel erector by trade so he was an invaluable asset. He also got me the building, so between his help and the deal he got me I saved a ton of money. Here is the building as it went up. Thanx to "a little help from my friends"!
Edit: This building was up with the roof on in three good working days. I did install a second man door to the right of the overhead so I wouldn't have to enter through the office area all the time.

View attachment HPIM3523.jpg

View attachment HPIM3526.jpg

View attachment IMG_0225.JPG

View attachment IMG_0228.JPG

View attachment IMG_0221.JPG

View attachment HPIM3538.jpg

View attachment IMG_0233.JPG

View attachment IMG_0234.JPG

Last edited:
Once the building was at lock up, the real work began. The inside is sheeted with a round of 3/4" on the bottom and then 5/8" from there up. The ceiling is aluminum. It was a pain to put up but man is it nice now. I don't know how many screws I have driven, but there was just shy of 3000 in the ceiling alone. Ouch, ouch, ouch. The mezzanine is 12' X 32". The window in my office I salvaged from a building that was being remodeled. It was a car dealership in the past.

View attachment IMG_0321.JPG

View attachment IMG_0319.JPG

View attachment IMG_0327.JPG