New garage-floor covering....

-

1973Barracuda

Reaction score
ok, have done a fair amount of research, but still undecided.

Those with epoxy or over coverings, let me know how you feel about your covering still.

Ease of installation and durability.

BTW, I finally got it. Bought a house with an 1800 square foot garage.

ok, have done a fair amount of research, but still undecided.

Those with epoxy or over coverings, let me know how you feel about your covering still.

Ease of installation and durability.

BTW, I finally got it. Bought a house with an 1800 square foot garage.
nice!!!!

Painter by trade have done several garage floors with rustoleum 2 part epoxy floor coatings and they seem to last pretty good
You'll have to degrease it then etch it the better you prep it the better it'll stick
The kits come with flakes to sprinkle in the wet paint but it takes skill to get even coverage best method I've found is do about a 16 in stripe at a time and sprinkle the flakes like you're feeding chickens then do another 16 inch stripe so on and so on
If you don't want the flakes use a product called "shark grip" you'll want some kind of anti skid in the coating cause it'll be pretty slick when it gets water on it
Do it on a warm dry day, longer you can stay off it the better I suggest a week before you park on it
There's a new type of coating that looks like stone can't remember the name but its not a diy job and its pretty pricey(around a grand for a 2 car garage)