New guy with a 66 Dart

-

Faderus

Reaction score
I am new to the Mopar world, but come from a Chevy SB and turbo Subaru background. I bought the car a couple of days ago.

Feel free to chime in with any info. The car is a 66 Dart, 440, 750 cfm carb, 727, 8 3/4 rear end with unknown gearing. I don't know much about it, other than what's posted above and I found out the hard way that the gas gauge doesn't work and it gets remarkably bad gas mileage.

Any clue where I can get headers for this thing?

IMG_5552.jpg

IMG_5554.jpg

IMG_5555.jpg

IMG_5558.jpg

IMG_5562.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome!! Cool ride, Yes there is a whole group here in A body big block cars! Poor gas mileage, yep! But it hauls ***, right! Be carefull around corners till you get some sway bars maybe?

A 66 Dart with a 440 under the hood and 4 wheel drum brakes with a single reservoir master cylinder. I like this new guy! Welcome to FABO.

F gas mileage go back and giggle like a school girl! Welcome from PA!

A 66 Dart with a 440 under the hood and 4 wheel drum brakes with a single reservoir master cylinder. I like this new guy! Welcome to FABO.
Nope, front disk brakes. Current todo list:

-full tune up
-fuel assesment/bigger electric fuel pump as it's only pushing 3 psi at idle and drops at much above that.
-Cooling system...Doesn't like to sit in traffic and creeps up over 220 pretty quick. Planning to ditch the electric pusher and add a better shroud for the mechanical fan. The Radiator was re cored a year ago
-front fender to tire clearance issues...when I turn sharp or turn much at all while the shock is compressed
-HEADERS...these have holes in the primaries

and now apparently I need a 2 zone master cylinder.

Welcome!! Cool ride, Yes there is a whole group here in A body big block cars! Poor gas mileage, yep! But it hauls ***, right! Be carefull around corners till you get some sway bars maybe?