Not sure if I'm in the right place but here goes

-

DodgeA100Van

Reaction score
I just picked up a 1966 A100 Van with a stock 273 that needs.. well I don't know yet. The engine bay is full of a pine needles rats nest. I was told it runs but needs a radiator. Is there a list somewhere with compatible bolt-on parts to rebuild/upgrade this thing? It is a one owner car but sat in a field for the last 10+ years. Anyway, hope I can find a little guidance here. I am a Roofing contractor who loves cars but is pretty green when it comes to wrenching. My very good friend and neighbor is a professional engine builder and mechanic who has worked on countless rods and projects over the years. He has generously offered to help me get this project running on his saturday afternoons and I was hoping to do all the legwork, research and parts ordering to make it easy on him. My goal here is a weekend driver, cruiser that's reliable and can be heard more than 10 feet away. I'd also like to get as much power as I can with stock and readily available bolt on parts. Hopefully not having an A body doesn't get me banned. Thanks!

IMG_20190223_114322.jpg

IMG_20190223_114401.jpg

IMG_20190228_163706.jpg

If it was a 65 or earlier 273 there would be a difference at intake bolts and more. Because it is a 66 273, most anything that fits 318 will fit. The small bore correct head gaskets for 273 are difficult to find but the common slightly larger bore 318 head gaskets work also.

Nice! I would love to pick up one of those one day. What do you plan on doing with it?

Always wanted one.Still do!
Nice find and Welcome!

Dave

Cool vehicle One god thing about this site is you can research and read and learn so much. As any question in any spot and there are well informed people to give you good info!
Yes that van is so cool!

I love these vans (and trucks) and if I had space I'd be looking.
You may be new to the Mopar world and this forum is about "A" Body cars.