Oil coming out at intake. Please help!

-

Logan Horsman

Reaction score
Hey guys, I have a 69 440 HP.

I put an Edelbrock Performer RPM intake on it and I am getting oil coming out the half circle port on the intake side. Why is this? Is this supposed to be blocked off with a special intake gasket?

It seems to be only on the driver side.
I am pretty new to any type of engine work.

Please help!

Thanks in advance
20181113_123157.jpg
20181113_123200.jpg

From that thread it sounds like intake bolts

It could be, although that seems excessive to a degree.

Did you use any kind of sealant on the intake bolts when you put it together?

If not, that "could" be where it's coming from, oil can wick up the threads and pool on the intake like what you are seeing.

Do you have a working PCV in place?

It has a new pcv valve.

First intake bolt pulled has no thread sealer on it. Likely found the culprit, will post back once im done and confirmed

Thanks again guys

The way it's pooled up in the cavity around the exhaust crossover port leads me to believe the the valve cover gasket is pouring but may i ask what that big gob of debris is at the forward center bolt? If that is a gob of silicone or the like under the gasket flange it is probably the source of the leak. I don't remember if there is water in that part of the head but it possibly could be crack in the top of the head down to the opening around the exhaust crossover. On a side note, I think you would be doing yourself a great favor if you go into the tech section and read the article on setting up a Holley carb for a Mopar, there should be a bell crank type bracket bolted onto your side linkage that will help your throttle cable alignment and assure proper travel of pedal without any binding or stickiness going on.

IMO