oil pressure at startup and the fix

Slant 6 Engines

  1. Naplm00

    Naplm00 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Location:
    Bay
    Local Time:
    6:00 PM
    When my car would start the oil pressure would take 5-8 seconds to turn out the dummy light. Many people told me this was the norm but, it seemed odd to me.

    After doing a ton of research I saw that there was supposed to be a standpipe anti drainback on the oil filter housing and that the oil pressure relif valve could stick as well. I assumed someone removed the standpipe to make it easier to get the filer on/off.

    Did my first change yesterday and turns out I was correct. Standpipe was misisng.

    I had researched ahead and bought the wix 51806 filter with the internal standpipe. Did the change and fired it up. Near instant oil pressure with this and the magnum starter!

    I'll end up returning the Mopar performance high oil pressure spring kit as I don't think I'll need it. Unless it's worth it for a bone stock engine.

    Thanks to all who posted this info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • MOPAROFFICIAL

      MOPAROFFICIAL FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      7,337
      Likes Received:
      6415
      Joined:
      Jun 1, 2016
      Location:
      Beach
      Local Time:
      6:00 PM
      Hmm, that never affected mine.
      Took 2 sec tops.
      Remember that is at the filter outlet, so the engine see's it after that..you are seeing the oil sitting in the fliter

      But if that fixed your issue, that's great news. I did run a high volume pump on mine and it was a new motor.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Naplm00

        Naplm00 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        233
        Likes Received:
        50
        Joined:
        May 20, 2019
        Location:
        Bay
        Local Time:
        6:00 PM
        Edit :. I'm also running delo sk/sn 15w40 or rotella 15w40 , whatever I have on hand that I also use in my diesel rover. Live in northern California and it rarely gets below 55 here
         
      • Naplm00

        Naplm00 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        233
        Likes Received:
        50
        Joined:
        May 20, 2019
        Location:
        Bay
        Local Time:
        6:00 PM
        It had a lowish quality filter on it as well , when I did the change it was totally empty from sitting. Could have also just been a crap filter
         
      • kursplat

        kursplat FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        3,751
        Likes Received:
        2637
        Joined:
        Aug 24, 2010
        Location:
        so cal
        Local Time:
        6:00 PM
        on a stock motor it's usually not a good idea to run a high pressure pump.
         
      • rustycowll69

        rustycowll69 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,353
        Likes Received:
        1102
        Joined:
        Feb 19, 2016
        Location:
        Pacific northwest
        Local Time:
        6:00 PM
        yes. I don't know what brand filter you were running. If you do some Internet research, you'll see which brands to stay away from. Fram oil filters were among the very worst in filtration ability, check valve and bypass quality. Some say they've upped their game, but they lost me as a customer a long, long time ago. I run a full size wix 51515 on most everything(mopar) I can.
         
        • Like Like x 2
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Naplm00

          Naplm00 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          233
          Likes Received:
          50
          Joined:
          May 20, 2019
          Location:
          Bay
          Local Time:
          6:00 PM
          It's was from the previous owner, was a ph8a equivalent oreillys microgard black canister.

          Drainback flap wasn't damaged

          Wix 51515 is what I was going to put on it , it's the filter I use on my rovers. But after a ton of research I swapped over to the standpipe filter
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • slantsixdan

            slantsixdan =..=

            Messages:
            6,745
            Likes Received:
            1935
            Joined:
            Jan 7, 2007
            Location:
            Vancouver BC
            Local Time:
            6:00 PM
            It will also be a good idea to service the oil pressure relief valve to make sure it's not partially stuck and bleeding off pressure, as described in these two threads: thread 1, thread 2.
             
          • Naplm00

            Naplm00 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            233
            Likes Received:
            50
            Joined:
            May 20, 2019
            Location:
            Bay
            Local Time:
            6:00 PM
            I was going to and do the high pressure spring but since the oil pressure is near instant now , should i bother?

            to be clear ill be returning or selling the spring

            @slantsixdan can you activate my slantsix forum id>?
             
            Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
          • slantsixdan

            slantsixdan =..=

            Messages:
            6,745
            Likes Received:
            1935
            Joined:
            Jan 7, 2007
            Location:
            Vancouver BC
            Local Time:
            6:00 PM
            Usually no need to put in a higher-pressure spring — but do service that valve; they should get some attention every few decades whether they need it or not :)

            I'm not a moderator or administrator on slantsix.org .
             
          • RustyRatRod

            RustyRatRod Lemmie see your b00bs. FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            67,806
            Likes Received:
            42118
            Joined:
            Jun 7, 2010
            Location:
            Georgia
            Local Time:
            9:00 PM
            I will take the oil pressure spring kit if you still have it and it is complete. PM me and let me know what you want for it.
             
          • Slantsix64

            Slantsix64 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,864
            Likes Received:
            1158
            Joined:
            May 11, 2014
            Location:
            SGV
            Local Time:
            8:00 PM
            Just put a mechanical gauge on it, wont see a dummy light turn on anymore. You can tell alot about a motor with a mechanical oil pressure gauge.
             
          • famous bob

            famous bob mopar misfit

            Messages:
            18,402
            Likes Received:
            7763
            Joined:
            Aug 14, 2011
            Location:
            okla
            Local Time:
            8:00 PM
            ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
            I was going to suggest that too, to see what its really doing. Could have been a half faulty sending unit !!
             
          • RustyRatRod

            RustyRatRod Lemmie see your b00bs. FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            67,806
            Likes Received:
            42118
            Joined:
            Jun 7, 2010
            Location:
            Georgia
            Local Time:
            9:00 PM
            Dan, correct me if I am wrong, but didn't Chrysler remove the tube stand in later slant engines? I've noticed through the years some had them and some did not.
             
          • slantsixdan

            slantsixdan =..=

            Messages:
            6,745
            Likes Received:
            1935
            Joined:
            Jan 7, 2007
            Location:
            Vancouver BC
            Local Time:
            6:00 PM
            No, once the standpipe came along (first version in '62) Chrysler put the standpipe on every Slant-6. Aftermarket pumps have pretty much always come without the standpipe -- they just have a male/male thread adaptor to mount the filter.
             
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • RustyRatRod

              RustyRatRod Lemmie see your b00bs. FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              67,806
              Likes Received:
              42118
              Joined:
              Jun 7, 2010
              Location:
              Georgia
              Local Time:
              9:00 PM
              Maybe that's what I am thinking about. I knew somehow I had seen some missing.

              Also I'll add this.......for "whatever" it might be worth. I've noticed a difference in the location of the oil pressure switch on some models. Some are mounted in the block, like my 64 and some I've seen screwed directly into the oil pump. The ones in the block could take a few more seconds to see pressure, I would think. Like I said.......for "whatever" that's worth. Probably nothing. lol
               
              • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
              • Naplm00

                Naplm00 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                233
                Likes Received:
                50
                Joined:
                May 20, 2019
                Location:
                Bay
                Local Time:
                6:00 PM
                id really rather not put a gauge as the interior of the car is perfectly original and its for my girlfriend...a gauge really wouldn't do much for her. I will however hook one up to check and do a few drive arounds, i have a VDO and sender that will fit the stock hole.

                I did also replace the idiot light sender when doing the tune up.

                @RustyRatRod ill send you pm. The spring kit was $15 you can have it for that.
                 
              • slantsixdan

                slantsixdan =..=

                Messages:
                6,745
                Likes Received:
                1935
                Joined:
                Jan 7, 2007
                Location:
                Vancouver BC
                Local Time:
                6:00 PM
                More about that here.
                 
                • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                • Killer6

                  Killer6 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  2,430
                  Likes Received:
                  809
                  Joined:
                  Mar 9, 2015
                  Location:
                  PA
                  Local Time:
                  8:00 PM
                  Just an FYI, My "Killer6" had ~90psi. cold w/ 10W30 with that kit installed in a new pump......a bit much.....but I never tried shim washers to bring it down some....it also seemed to ruin senders & the anti drain-back rings in the filters. I installed a remote mount filter kit & mounted it where the coil used to be,....accessible thru the K-frame from underneath. Don't know how that would shake-out in an early-A..............
                   
                • jos51700

                  jos51700 Hemi Orange you glad it isn't a political avatar?

                  Messages:
                  5,494
                  Likes Received:
                  2193
                  Joined:
                  May 24, 2009
                  Location:
                  Bel-Ray
                  Local Time:
                  8:00 PM
                  Put an accumulator on there and you'll have pressure as soon as turn the key, even before you crank the motor!
                   
                  • Agree Agree x 1
                  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.