OK, so it's non-Mopar - feedback needed on a Chevy 6.5L Diesel

-

halfafish

Damn those rabbits, and their holes!
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
The back story: For a while I've been poking around at the idea of a small RV/motorhome for the usual camping trips and travel. The idea of putting one together exactly the way I want it is appealing, but so far that's all it's been. Casual pondering on a lazy day. And then this potentially falls into my lap.

A good friend who is a stand-up guy and can be trusted is going to sell his Blue Bird Micro-Bird school bus. It's a 2002 with only 67K miles. He's owned it for about eight years and maybe put a thousand miles on it in that time. The works out to maybe 4K miles a year before his ownership. It came out of Wyoming and is completely rust-free. I checked it out, it's in exceptional shape and the price is very good.

It's a Chevy chassis, powered by a 6.5L diesel. I have no knowledge whatsoever on this engine, hence this thread. Does anyone have any experience or feedback on this power plant? I drove it and I can't find any concerns, but ya never know.

As RRR says, thank you and drive through.

The back story: For a while I've been poking around at the idea of a small RV/motorhome for the usual camping trips and travel. The idea of putting one together exactly the way I want it is appealing, but so far that's all it's been. Casual pondering on a lazy day. And then this potentially falls into my lap.

A good friend who is a stand-up guy and can be trusted is going to sell his Blue Bird Micro-Bird school bus. It's a 2002 with only 67K miles. He's owned it for about eight years and maybe put a thousand miles on it in that time. The works out to maybe 4K miles a year before his ownership. It came out of Wyoming and is completely rust-free. I checked it out, it's in exceptional shape and the price is very good.