Pieces of steel in cylinder??

-

Righty Tighty

Blame it on the dog
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first post regarding technical advice. I tried using the search feature, but I think this situation might be too unique.

I'm new here, and new to Mopar vehicles. To be honest, I'm pretty new to old cars in general. That being said, I have a '71 Plymouth Scamp with a 318LA, 904 3 speed. Was running fine, I installed some headers with a dual X-pipe exhaust recently. Still ran fine, but started to overheat on shorter and shorter trips. After having it towed, I discovered a clogged overflow tube to the coolant reservoir. I repaired a few leaky areas, but upon attempting to start it up for a test run, it wouldn't start.

I checked a few different things and ended up at the spark plugs. The electrodes were smashed and the tips were pinged. I pulled the heads and found the same with the pistons. Valves seem ok. What I did find, other than the damage, were some small, pellet sized pieces of steel in each cylinder (about 3/16" square). They're somewhat uniform in size and shape. They seem to be hardened steel, as they do not file easily. What I can't seem to figure out, is where they came from and how they got into my cylinders. Only thing I can think of is foul play. What do you guys think?
Y8ozVW03S4KzuEh%UPu9IA.jpg
BSRx26r5QO6kVy0oWQYWiA.jpg
8WlNRG7rQVOjNzmwRk9uFw.jpg
fullsizeoutput_6a4.jpeg
gqkNEHi2RXKTejkZ%Fgv7w.jpg

I believe foul play. Dropped through the carb, they would have dinged up the valves and valve seats on the way through.

Nothing more than the usual... I will say, when I was doing the cooling system work, a kid kept driving back and forth. I watched him each time, and his last pass he stopped. Asked about the car and blah blah, but didn't really seem like a car guy. Make sense? He drove off and never saw him again.