Power brake conversion issue

Early A-Body Discussions

1. cudafish65

cudafish65 Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    4:56 AM
    Converted my 65 barracuda to a dual master power brake system. 4 wheel drum. After about a 10 minute drive, all 4 brakes will lock up. I can relieve the pressure at the master and it will be fine for a little bit. I think I have a faulty master cylinder, has anyone experienced anything like this?

2. SIX225

SIX225 Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    3:56 AM
    I believe that on a power brake setup that the push rod into the master cylinder is adjustable. If not adjusted right, I believe that it will cause problems like you have described. Searching for push rod adjustment should bring up a few be threads on adjusting it (sorry, can't find the ones I had bookmarked). Had a similar problem on my manual brake set up, but for different reasons.

3. Killer6

Killer6 Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    I wouldn't assume it is the master cyl., it works fine cold for how long? As SIX225 stated, pull the MC loose from the booster and look at the pushrod, if it's adjustable that is one
    option. Does the pedal get really firm when this occurs? Also check the strut link between the pedal & booster, is there a small amount of play, did it go on easy or....?
    Also I assume You left enough air-space in the reservoir for the fluid to expand
    w/the underhood heat etc. Unless all 4 sets of shoes are adjusted too tight,(not
    common but possible), fluid expansion is the only other temp/time related item.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
  4. RedFish

RedFish Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    You didn't provide much info, what parts used, etc...
    Fluid lines on engine side of master or fender side of master?
    Exhaust heating brake fluid has been a issue for others.

5. cudafish65

Local Time: