Purple Colored Valve Springs?

-

ValiantKindOfGuy

Reaction score
Just bought a parts car with a 340. J heads, torker 2, long tubes, axle dumps. Looks like it was a pretty good running car when it was on the road. To make a long story short the valve springs are purplish. I’m assuming a mopar performance spring. Any ideas? Never seen them but I don’t usually use mopar performance springs.

seen green ones too. Maybe they were rated with colors like torsion bars from the factory? Some had a stripe on them.

seen green ones too. Maybe they were rated with colors like torsion bars from the factory? Some had a stripe on them.
These are pretty much completely purple anodized looking. I’ve seen the good old red stripes and a few other colors just never purple. I don’t think they are stock these heads look recently done and I’m pretty sure this thing has a healthy cam in it. Thanks for the response.

I am not a expert on all Mopar performance Springs but I have run quite a few sets not seeing a purple set . orange for 340 high-performance all the rest were natural steel color

I am not a expert on all Mopar performance Springs but I have run quite a few sets not seeing a purple set . orange for 340 high-performance all the rest were natural steel color
Strange. I’ll post pictures tomorrow if we don’t get an answer by morning. We will figure this out FABO!

I did have one set of crane Double Springs back in the day that definitely had a purple tint to them similar to what you are describing

I did have one set of crane Double Springs back in the day that definitely had a purple tint to them similar to what you are describing

866C6B72-0464-47DE-9459-F288C8B9BCA7.jpeg

6EF5FF88-2C45-47C7-B892-DCEAF254A4A0.jpeg

5B7ED7D9-59F1-4AAE-B359-C7320DDD8172.jpeg

No, I think Crowers are like a pastel purple or just a purple stripe. Perhaps the purple tint is the heat treating? Maybe take one to a machine shop and have them put it on a spring rate tester.