Question on turn signals

Discussion in 'Suspension, Steering and Chassis' started by B3422w5, Dec 6, 2018.

  1. B3422w5

    B3422w5 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Location:
    Portage michigan
    Local Time:
    1:45 AM
    both my turn signals work( 69 Dart) has column shift steering column.
    However the left one, if you bump it just a tiny bit the turn signal lamp acts spazzy( barely on, etc) but if you hold it in the center all is good, if you pull it down to make a turn all is good.
    Just seems loose/ sloppy in the middle and with big camshaft and radical idle it sometimes is so sensitive it as i said above acts like its between the on/ off position
    What needs replaced?
     
  2. Bad Sport

    Bad Sport HALF A BUBBLE OFF Staff Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    33,401
    Likes Received:
    11637
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    The Wolverine
    Local Time:
    1:45 AM
    My guess would be the turn signal cam. It could be just gunked up with dust and dirt or it might need replacing.

    I had issues with mine and I swapped it out twice with these new TS cams that you can purchase and both of them didn't want to work properly.

    I ended up buying an used OEM piece, cleaned it well and installed it.

    No more issues.
     
  3. Murray

    Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    323
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Local Time:
    10:45 PM
    I agree that it seems likes the little contacts in the switch are bad/ loose/ dirty. These switches are getting old, and while the reproduction stuff is of questionable quality, considering the work involved I would replace the switch.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Alaskan_TA

      Alaskan_TA Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      3,976
      Likes Received:
      1679
      Joined:
      Nov 12, 2004
      Location:
      PA
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
      I had one acting similar in a '70 Dart, so I bought a replacement switch.

      When I pulled the steering wheel to replace the old one, I noticed that the screw holding the original switch in place had backed out.

      I tightened it up & it worked perfect after that.
       
    • B3422w5

      B3422w5 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      617
      Likes Received:
      409
      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2017
      Location:
      Portage michigan
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
      When you say switch, you mean the turn signal cam, right?
       
    • Murray

      Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      724
      Likes Received:
      323
      Joined:
      Apr 19, 2010
      Location:
      San Jose, California
      Local Time:
      10:45 PM
      No such thing as a turn signal "cam". We are talking switch, as in there are wires and points of contact. The switch has "arms" for cancelling the function. The wires for the switch run through the column and exit the column near the floor. Yes, the lever could just be loose, a simple fix.
       
    • B3422w5

      B3422w5 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      617
      Likes Received:
      409
      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2017
      Location:
      Portage michigan
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
      Funny. When i go to Year One, the part i think i need is called a turn signal cam. Plastic, two wires hooked to it, costs 14.99 from them
       
    • Mike69cuda

      Mike69cuda 63 is the new 17 FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      211
      Likes Received:
      107
      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2018
      Location:
      Overland Park Kansas
      Local Time:
      12:45 AM
      Maybe the cam will work for you, but I bought the cam part from oreilly & it didn’t fix it. The cam is just a small part of the switch. Big waste of time for me. At least I bought it local so I could return it. I bought the whole switch assembly from year one. About 45$ Online, cheaper with discount. The part was good quality. Classic wanted $100+ for the same thing.
       
    • Bad Sport

      Bad Sport HALF A BUBBLE OFF Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      33,401
      Likes Received:
      11637
      Joined:
      Jun 12, 2010
      Location:
      The Wolverine
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
    • Bad Sport

      Bad Sport HALF A BUBBLE OFF Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      33,401
      Likes Received:
      11637
      Joined:
      Jun 12, 2010
      Location:
      The Wolverine
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
      Yup, replacing the cancelling cam fixed it for about 30 seconds for me, lol. That's why I found a whole TS switch and replaced the whole unit.
       
    • Bad Sport

      Bad Sport HALF A BUBBLE OFF Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      33,401
      Likes Received:
      11637
      Joined:
      Jun 12, 2010
      Location:
      The Wolverine
      Local Time:
      1:45 AM
      That's what I tried, it didn't last very long at all.
       
    • Murray

      Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      724
      Likes Received:
      323
      Joined:
      Apr 19, 2010
      Location:
      San Jose, California
      Local Time:
      10:45 PM
      Thanks for the clarification. Like I said, there is no such part- this is a made up part, no such part used to exist. Why would anyone want to replace 1/2 of a switch? The chinese have us running in circles. Replace the WHOLE switch.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • 70dustah

        70dustah Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        299
        Likes Received:
        81
        Joined:
        Aug 22, 2012
        Location:
        MA
        Local Time:
        1:45 AM
        Like Bad Sport said, if you are going though the process of disassembly, why not replace the 40 plus year old part. I wouldn't go with the chineseium auto parts store version, I would get it from fellow member, and lighting expert slant six dan. see here .Daniel Stern Lighting Consultancy and Supply