Reinstalling torsion bars on a 67 cuda

Suspension, Steering and Chassis

  1. 273 ball

    273 ball Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Location:
    hemet
    Local Time:
    11:24 PM
    Hi I do I have back out the adjuster bolt on the lower control arm to put the bar back in
     
  2. Hyper_pak

    Hyper_pak Old School Chrysler Fan

    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    2693
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Location:
    Desoto Texas
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    not sure how you got it out, but yes the adjuster needs to be all the way out, loose. Don't force it, make sure it's all clean and no junk in the hex socket, trans cross member also.
     
  3. Jim Lusk

    Jim Lusk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    1186
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Local Time:
    11:24 PM
    Don't forget to grease both ends of the bar...
     
  4. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    Jim,
    How much grease are we talking here? I suspect that anything more than a film of grease could cause fitment problems.
     
  5. UDUST81

    UDUST81 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Location:
    Des Moines IA
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    any excess grease will squeeze out not a big deal just put on a reasonable amount and youll be fine
     
  6. RedFish

    RedFish Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    24,947
    Likes Received:
    3326
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    When going back, Make sure that the ball end of the adjust screw seats properly in the little pocket of adjust finger. We've seen at least 1 here that missed that target. Ruined the adjust finger.
     
  7. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    I'm not convinced that this is right. These are very tight tolerances (on some cars more than others, possibly) and without a vent on the other side, you could have yourself a bit of an air seal happening. I don't believe they're greased from the factory (on the LCA side) and I think there's a reason for that.

    The QA1 LCAs have spaces at the points of the hex (IIRC) on the torsion bar socket...unless someone knows different, I suspect that these might be there to vent extra grease.
     
  8. JBurch

    JBurch FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    1072
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Owego, NY
    Local Time:
    2:24 AM
    Yes, what makes you think you do not have to?
     
  9. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    740
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    1:24 AM
    I suspect that the OP has yet to start the job and he/she is hoping to preserve the ride height, to avoid having to do a complete alignment possibly?
     
  10. JBurch

    JBurch FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    1072
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Owego, NY
    Local Time:
    2:24 AM
    OK.........if that is the case, measure ride height before disassembly......though I'm not sure how they would reassemble the car not relaxing the tension........that kind of wrestling knocks cars off jack stands
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Jim Lusk

      Jim Lusk Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      4,859
      Likes Received:
      1186
      Joined:
      Mar 8, 2006
      Location:
      Fresno, CA
      Local Time:
      11:24 PM
      They were greased from the factory. I usually take a couple of fingers in the grease and wipe the inside of the socket. There's plenty of room in front of the bar that you'll never have a problem getting the bars in if some grease gets trapped in the front.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • MRGTX

        MRGTX Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,904
        Likes Received:
        740
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2007
        Location:
        CT, USA
        Local Time:
        1:24 AM
        Not doubting you here but my factory installed torsion bars came out the the LCAs as clean as a whistle.
         
      • JBurch

        JBurch FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        1,915
        Likes Received:
        1072
        Joined:
        Oct 17, 2009
        Location:
        Owego, NY
        Local Time:
        2:24 AM
        Agree, all the ones I've taken apart ( 5-6 ) all had real thick heavy grease on them...........to get back to the original question.......YES, loosen the adjusters for reassembly; get a ride height measurement BEFORE dissembly

        Good luck!
         
      • 1969383S

        1969383S FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        6,098
        Likes Received:
        3032
        Joined:
        Jan 8, 2012
        Location:
        Cumming, GA.
        Local Time:
        2:24 AM
        Heat your boots up in a pot of hot water first as well. The slip on easy that way.
         
      • MRGTX

        MRGTX Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,904
        Likes Received:
        740
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2007
        Location:
        CT, USA
        Local Time:
        1:24 AM
        Both ends? The body mount side on my car had the grease (and boots) but the suspension side, nada. That's really strange...
         
      1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
        By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.