Relay

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by FrenchDragRacer, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. FrenchDragRacer

    FrenchDragRacer Active Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Local Time:
    12:42 AM
    Hello from France!

    I try to remove my instruments cluster on my 71 Dart sedan because my fuel gauge don't run. I've remove this relay. Anybody know what is his function?

    Thanks!
    20180907_193725.jpg
    20180907_194217.jpg
    Picture find in internet
    received_312297016171209.jpeg
     
  2. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    45,219
    Likes Received:
    13663
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    6:42 PM
    Not a relay it is a current limiter for your gauges. It takes 12VDC and drops it to 5VDC, If your fuel and temperature gauge are not working good bet that is the culprit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Dfr360cuda

      Dfr360cuda Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      770
      Likes Received:
      172
      Joined:
      Aug 30, 2012
      Location:
      Finleyville, pa
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      6:42 PM
      ...................
      Check continuity / resistance.
       
    • FrenchDragRacer

      FrenchDragRacer Active Member

      Messages:
      29
      Likes Received:
      0
      Joined:
      May 7, 2010
      Local Time:
      12:42 AM
      Ok thanks a lot !
       
    • 67Dart273

      67Dart273 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      37,741
      Likes Received:
      5396
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2010
      Location:
      Idaho
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      3:42 PM
      Recommend you replace it with an aftermarket solid state one. If you search, there are a few places show you how to build one using a 5V solid state regulator chip Get you started:

      RTE limiter - rte

      Making voltage regulator for dash gauges

      Mopar Voltage Regulator Upgrade

      Other problems with the clusters read this:

      Printed circuit pins repair

      1...Check the connector pins carefully for corrosion or looseness between board traces. They should be soldered to the board traces

      2....Connection contacts for the IVR often lose contact with the board traces. Solder bridges across as shown in the link above

      3....Gauge stud nuts lose contact with board traces. Loosen/ tighten nuts a few times to "scrub" them clean and consider replacing nuts with "regular" hex nuts

      There is resistance values for the senders derived from the old gauge tester (in the factory manuals) which is 3 resistances with a switch, used to substitute for the sender, giving you low scale, mid scale, and high scale, IE C--middle--H or E--1/2--F etc

      c-3826-jpg-jpg.jpg

      All gauge units are the same, oil, temp, fuel. They all read the same with the same sender resistance
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • FrenchDragRacer

        FrenchDragRacer Active Member

        Messages:
        29
        Likes Received:
        0
        Joined:
        May 7, 2010
        Local Time:
        12:42 AM
         
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        37,741
        Likes Received:
        5396
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        3:42 PM
        Continuity tests tell you NOTHING on that device. You need to check it operationally as I detailed above using 12 jigged up to the proper cluster pin and cluster ground, and check the gauges response using test resistors substituted for the senders.

        Just.......replace....the.....device
         
      • FrenchDragRacer

        FrenchDragRacer Active Member

        Messages:
        29
        Likes Received:
        0
        Joined:
        May 7, 2010
        Local Time:
        12:42 AM