reverse light switch

-

gdbuick

Reaction score
Hello,
I picked up a father son project 1968 dart 383/727 transmission. Original 6 cyl auto car with console. The reverse lights don't work because the console mounted switch is broken. After surfing the web it appears this is almost $ 150.00 to replace with a factory switch which is crazy $. I can spend some time fabricating my own switch/bracket if need be if I can't find a used one someone wants to part with.

Second option:

Now the transmission does have a 3 pin neutral safety switch/reverse with only the center terminal being used for the neutral safety switch circuit. Unfortunately the two outer pins read open circuit on my ohm meter when shifting thru all the gears so I either have a bad switch or something inside the trans is not aligned up correctly. This is my first time working on this style transmission. Can you remove this switch without the transmission fluid pouring out? That way I could test the switch to determine what my issue is.

I disassembled my reverse light switch on my 67 dart. I found that the springs that push the contacts (2) and another that pushes a plastic part (1) were rusted and/or broken. They are very small but there are many suppliers of small springs on the net. I ended up paying the piper and bought a NOS and did not pursue springs any further. To disassemble mine I drilled out the two rivets and planned to reassemble with two bolts and nuts. Be sure to record the orientation of the parts. To get the correct springs, measure the spring wire diameter, number of coils per inch and outside diameter and length of the 3 springs. Good luck.

Hello
Someone before me opened the switch already. I thought I could fix it but there are parts missing. I have the two small springs and the plastic part the springs mount in but nothing to make contact with the wire terminal contacts inside the switch.
Greg