SeaFoam Party! (Advice Please)

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. seabee

    seabee FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bonita, CA
    Local Time:
    12:00 PM
    I ran out of gas the other day (gauge has been reading off lately) and the tank-crud has filled the line and carb and it stumbles and sputters now. The tank needs to be replaced badly but I don't have the time until mid September to do it. I got some Seafoam after reading some threads here on FABO but wanted to get some first-hand advice from people that have used it before the EPA sends their SWAT team to my house (California). If I add it to the tank only will I still get the giant smoke cloud? Since this is my daily driver I don't want to drive my kid to school trailing a giant cloud of smoke. I get enough dirty looks for not driving a Prius here as it is.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 66plyValiant

    66plyValiant Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    windsor NS
    Local Time:
    2:00 PM
    seafoam works well but its not going to fit your problem. you need to remove the line to the tank, remove the gas cap and blow compressed air back through the line

    best thing to do is to set your compressor regulator to 10 PSI to ensure your not going to harm anything

    I see new gas lines; gas tank and sending unit in your future
     
  3. seabee

    seabee FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bonita, CA
    Local Time:
    12:00 PM
    Aye aye on that. I have Sept 22nd weekend set up for replacing them all. I was just hoping to thin out the goop until then so it idles a little better.
     
  4. mullinax95

    mullinax95 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,311
    Likes Received:
    402
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Local Time:
    3:00 PM
    Seafoam will not help yer problem tank and inline filters need to be added. Good luck.
     
  5. C130 Chief

    C130 Chief Mechanical Genius

    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Local Time:
    1:00 PM
    You need to drop the tank and dump the crud out, blow out the metal lines and replace all the rubber ones.

    Hot soapy water and a couple hands full of sharp gravel clean tanks as well as anything. Fill tank 1/4 way with soapy water, add rocks, slosh, rinse repeat.
     
  6. seabee

    seabee FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bonita, CA
    Local Time:
    12:00 PM
    Thanks. Like I said, I'm replacing it all in a few weeks.
     
  7. 66plyValiant

    66plyValiant Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    windsor NS
    Local Time:
    2:00 PM
    only takes 15 minutes to drop the tank and its worth it if its full of dirty

    but you can have it professionally cleaned inside; so why are you replacing? rust?
     
  8. seabee

    seabee FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bonita, CA
    Local Time:
    12:00 PM
    Yeah it's rusty in and out. I've seen new ones for <$200 so figured I might as well just replace it. Plus the filler neck has been fused to the tank with some sort of Goop or expoxy from the Prev Owner so I have a feeling it's going to be a half-day job getting them out. I found out last night that my wife is doing a few days at sea next weekend so I'll have both cars and time to fix. I took your advice and blew 10 PSI down the line last night when I was replacing the filter. The stuff in the line/filter looks like rusted petroleum jelly. Car idles/ runs fine just hickups at idle.

    Thanks for all the input.
     
  9. 66plyValiant

    66plyValiant Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    windsor NS
    Local Time:
    2:00 PM
    take the top off the carburator and clean the float bowls and the jets, put it back together with RTV thats gas proof and it should work for now
     
  10. SRT_DSTR15

    SRT_DSTR15 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose
    Local Time:
    12:00 PM
    If you do use seafoam. I used like 1/4 down the carb directly. Holding it open so it doesnt die. Then the rest in the gas. You can get a good used tank on here. I got one for like 50-75.
     
  11. C130 Chief

    C130 Chief Mechanical Genius

    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Local Time:
    1:00 PM
    I wouldn't use RTV on a carb.
     
  12. 66plyValiant

    66plyValiant Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    windsor NS
    Local Time:
    2:00 PM

    have to seal it with something and its not worth buying a whole gasket kit for one gasket

    I have been lucky so far, I've never broke a gasket so I didn't need to use any sealant
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.