Six pack to The summit

-

K.O. SWINGER

Meeting in the alley since 1976
Reaction score
I would like to start this thread for the six pack enthusiasts and gurus on this form. Six pack seem to be a bit of a hoodoo voodoo science. I have no interest in negative opinions of the setup only in helping those running them or that are interested in them understand and improve their systems. I will be the first to say I am just learning, but I love the setup and would love to hear any helpful facts or theories. I will start with this question what happens inside a six-pack manifold at wide open throttle I have heard the outboard carburetors take over does anyone know the percentage? Is that true? So let's begin
20170312_143545.jpg

Outboard carbs take over?
This isn’t true. The outboard carbs are of a higher flow rating than the center, true, but the center still contributes. I can see that the center carb, being in the center has less of a direct impact on what fills the cylinder over the outboard carb since it has a better placement over the runners path.

Once the carbs are open, there all moving air and fuel.

There is an excellent thread on this at FBBO.

There is a definite learning curve when dealing with a six pack setup. I had my trials & tribulations with them in the mid to late 70's street racing them here in Texas.

Thanks, this is a info share , I hope! then all carb intake air velocity at wide open throttle is the same on all carbs?

I guess my question is which carbs are feeding which cylinders or what role does the center carb really play at wide open throttle?