Slant Six Points Ignition Trouble

-

Rakers_SS

Reaction score
Hello everyone! Well, I finally have myself an Abody mopar! I picked up a '71 Duster with the 225 a few days ago. And now the fun begins! I'm new to old mopars, I had a 2015 charger RT but sold it 8 months ago, and have had a 2011 Camaro SS that I've worked on with my dad. I've never worked on points ignition but overall it makes sense. My duster has fuel but no spark, and going through the wiring I thought I'd solved it when I finally got power to the coil but that quickly vanished when i tried to start the car and the ballast resistor was scalding hot to the touch... I'm sure there's some wiring wrong somewhere, but I'm having trouble finding a diagram for points ignition wiring, everything seems to show electronic (maybe its a sign...). Does anyone have a generic wiring diagram for points ignition with the ballast resistor they could share? Switching to electronic will be my last resort, trying to keep this low buck if possible. Appreciate the help!

Perfectly normal for the ballast to be hot as it drops 12V to about 8. Where do you have the points set?

Perfectly normal for the ballast to be hot as it drops 12V to about 8. Where do you have the points set?
Ok, good to know. Thanks! Is hot enough that it could burn me normal? after I tried it i was only getting about .5VDC from the other side of the resistor. I believe the points are set at .020

Ok, good to know. Thanks! Is hot enough that it could burn me normal? after I tried it i was only getting about .5VDC from the other side of the resistor. I believe the points are set at .020

Yes, hot enough to burn you is normal. 5V sounds a little low. .020 for the points is about right, but "believe" is a little shakey. I would double check the points with a dwell meter. Should be 40-45 degrees on the meter.

Make sure you have a good condenser . No spark could be that if the points are set right and you have power to the coil.Could also be the coil