small hesitation off idle

-

twotone68

lifetime mopar man
Reaction score
Ii have a off idle hesitation,warmed up.185 deg.Just rebuilt a edelbrock #1406/600 cfm. Replaced a very worn out holley 600. It's on my mild 318,stck bottom end,78,00 miles,performer intake,mopar elec.ignition,hughes 318 muscle cam,street carter mech. fuel pump,stock coil,msd wires,5 deg. base timimg, vac. adv. hooked up, carb in excel. shape, all settings set to rebuild kit specs.Edelbrock kit. Any ideas??

Which hole is your accelerator pump set at?
Are you sure the timing is set ok?

A little trick I use to see if it's lean off idle is to partially cover the top of the carb with my hand as I start up on the RPM's
If the hesitation goes away, then it's a lean issue and very probably the accelerator pump.

I'm not a expert on tuning the Eddy carbs, and while that may be some of the problem, with the Hughes cam installed, i'd think that engine would be much happier with the initial timing at least up around 12/14* vs the 5* you have it now. And, where is the vac adv hooked to.....ported or full vac? I'd try bumping it up and see how it reacts. You need to get the timing right first, and then play with the carb if need be.

I'm not a expert on tuning the Eddy carbs, and while that may be some of the problem, with the Hughes cam installed, i'd think that engine would be much happier with the initial timing at least up around 12/14* vs the 5* you have it now.

And quite possibly a little more. My teen is at 16* initial.

AS per. the edelbrock rebuild kit, the pump rod is in the middle hole. The vac. adv. is at the passenger front. manifold vac.,my timing is with vac. plugged off , have not checked full advance. I have never run base timing on any of my small blocks higher than 9degs.??? I will deffinately check my timing and get back with you all. Thanks.