Speedometer cable question....

Early A-Body Discussions

  1. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    56,389
    Likes Received:
    25327
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    5:16 PM
    This car has the early speedometer cable that is one piece with the speedometer gear housing. It has the small three speed manual transmission. Is there a way I can convert it to use the later style cable that screws on on both ends? In other words, will the later gear housings interchange so that I can use the screw on cable? If so, does anybody have the correct speedometer gear housing? Thank you.
     
  2. Doug.S

    Doug.S 1964 Dart More Door

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Location:
    Saylorsburg, PA
    Local Time:
    5:16 PM
    Rusty, I am picturing in my head a unit that bolts to the trans in place of the speedo cable. It stays in the trans full time and a cable or electronic sensing unit screws into it. I remember seeing a unit like that from an aftermarket vendor, and I think it was for early A’s. I also remember pricing was not nice. I will dig through my search history today and if I find it, I will link it here. To answer your actual question, there is no way to make the later unit work with the 65 and back trans that I know of.
    So I ended up buying a reproduction speedo cable an installing it with the proper gear and seals. I think it was around $150 plus shipping.(I know it is highway robbery compared to a regular cable) Needs to be pulled and lubed after six months of driving, but works well. Good luck, Doug.
     
  3. fshd4it

    fshd4it Squid inc

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Location:
    Winock WA
    Local Time:
    2:16 PM
    I came across this one day, it's a ratio adapter that was used because there's only 6 different speedo pinions for pre-'66. There are different ratios, so maybe one of these and the correct gear count pinion would work? I've never had one, not even sure if a newer cable would screw on. Gonna be $$ though... The lower unit in the picture is the normal one, just with the cable lopped off.

    5468074-Speedoends.jpg
     
  4. Keith Mopar

    Keith Mopar Mopar Nut

    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    214
    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary AB.
    Local Time:
    3:16 PM
  5. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    56,389
    Likes Received:
    25327
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    5:16 PM
    That's what I am trying to get around, but hay, it is what it is and I'll buy one if I have to. Did the later three speeds go to the larger diameter housing? I guess if you really wanted a lot of work you could change the whole tail shaft housing. I won't be going that way though. Thanks yall.
     
  6. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    56,389
    Likes Received:
    25327
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    5:16 PM
    I got one of those universal cable kits comin for it. for 14 bucks, if that fixes it oh happy day. lol
     
  7. JDMopar

    JDMopar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    1062
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Location:
    Candler, NC/Myrtle Beach, SC
    Local Time:
    5:16 PM
    As I was reading thru the responses, I was going to suggest a universal kit. I used one on a 64 Belvedere wagon to use the factory speedometer head with the small screw on end, to a 73 727. I just had to cut it to proper length, and add one end. The kit even came with the dies to press cable end on. Glad you found it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • flingdingo

      flingdingo Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      228
      Likes Received:
      177
      Joined:
      Apr 26, 2017
      Location:
      El Lay
      Local Time:
      2:16 PM
      What's the kit? I've been looking for an answer that's less than the $130 cable. When I bought my wagon, the PO provided a used speedo cable... it worked great for about 500 miles... I'd like to have a working speedo again!
       
    • RustyRatRod

      RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      56,389
      Likes Received:
      25327
      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2010
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      5:16 PM
    • flingdingo

      flingdingo Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      228
      Likes Received:
      177
      Joined:
      Apr 26, 2017
      Location:
      El Lay
      Local Time:
      2:16 PM
      Ugh, of course I get no pics... lets us know how it works. I already (stupidly) ordered the Rockauto cable... so I've got parts...
       
    • RustyRatRod

      RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      56,389
      Likes Received:
      25327
      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2010
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      5:16 PM
      Just do a search on the part number, man.

      ATP Speedometer Cable Core Kits YC-100
       
    • flingdingo

      flingdingo Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      228
      Likes Received:
      177
      Joined:
      Apr 26, 2017
      Location:
      El Lay
      Local Time:
      2:16 PM
      Hey @RustyRatRod, did this work out for you? I finally got all my other gauges working, time for the speedo!
       
    • RustyRatRod

      RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      56,389
      Likes Received:
      25327
      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2010
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      5:16 PM
      Funny you ask. With all the floor pan work, I haven't done it yet. But I plan to in the next day or two. I will keep you posted.
       
    • flingdingo

      flingdingo Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      228
      Likes Received:
      177
      Joined:
      Apr 26, 2017
      Location:
      El Lay
      Local Time:
      2:16 PM
      Thanks! Although for $20 to my door, I might just order one and find out for myself.
       
    • RustyRatRod

      RustyRatRod 30 Degrees Outta Whack FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      56,389
      Likes Received:
      25327
      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2010
      Location:
      Georgia
      Local Time:
      5:16 PM
      Naw, we'll find out before it gets to you. I've been puttin it off too, because I'm gonna lose fluid......AGAIN when I pull the pinion out and I didn't wanna do it. But it's gotta be done so.......

      I'll just jack the car WAY up in the back and maybe the fluid will dump towards the front of the transmission and hopefully I won't lose as much. I'm also gonna wire in the reverse light switch. Somebody "added" some runnin through a toggle switch under the dash. It did not have reverse lights originally, but I want them, so it's gettin um. I'll update my runnin and drivin thread when I do both.
       
    1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.