Speedometer will only go up to 40mph, and idea how to fix?

Transmission and Drivetrain Tech

  1. myasylum

    myasylum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Well, I took out the dash and I added the white face thingys, and everything seemed fine. When I put everything back together the speedo would only go up to 35mph. So I took it apart again to see if anything was sticking, and everything seemed fine, everything seemed to move without sticking. I hooked it up again, and now the speedo work up for 40mph, which is better, but still not right. Does anyone know what might be going on?? It's one of those things where I'm starting to think I should have left is as was.:banghead:

    Any help on this matter?

    and why is that speedo cable so short?? How annoying! That the only thing I can think of is that it isn't in far enough... It is clipped in place though.

    Thanks!
     
  2. fishy68

    fishy68 Tyr Fryr's Inc. FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    921
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central, IL (Hooterville)
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Is the speedo needle bent and catching on the new white face stickers? If it worked ok before that's all I can think of. Their pretty fragile so you may have bent it a little when installing the stickers. You can bench test it with a reversing drill that way your not having to install it to test it. No idea why the speedo cables too short unless someone replaced it and put the wrong one on the car. Mines plenty long.
     
  3. 64physhy

    64physhy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Weatherford, TX
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Sounds like the light weight spring on the needle slipped.
     
  4. myasylum

    myasylum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Can that spring be fixed, or do I need a new speedo?

    Maybe the speedometer can't keep up with the car? :burnout: :)
     
  5. myasylum

    myasylum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Can the needle be simply be fixed, or would I need a whole new speedo gauge?
     
  6. 64physhy

    64physhy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Weatherford, TX
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Hard to say without seeing it. On mine, whatever holds the spring in place was gone, so I used a piece of safety wire (lock wire) to hold it down and it's worked fine ever since
     
  7. 66cuda

    66cuda 2011Armada K of C 1st PL

    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores Michigan
    Local Time:
    7:45 AM
    Speedo's can be fixed but it typically aint cheep and it really needs to be done by a pro. speedo cables are all short behind the IP...very few come out more than an inch or so ( if that) the idea being you undo it from underneath before you remove the IP.....IN assy they are put into the car already assembled and it depends on how far in the guy shoves it in and pushes the bendover on it....you can move them a little...but they will never come out far enough to unscrew them topside ( unless you have teeny tiny hands)
     
  8. 68 A

    68 A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Location:
    Auburn, NY
    Local Time:
    7:45 AM
    sell the chevy and get a mopar!!
     
  9. 66cuda

    66cuda 2011Armada K of C 1st PL

    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores Michigan
    Local Time:
    7:45 AM
    ALso....if you can screw the treads on it is likely in there far enough to engage and register....if it is showing 40 then it is spinnin.....and unless your needle is bouncing up to 40 then back to zero chances are your connection is OK
     
  10. 66cuda

    66cuda 2011Armada K of C 1st PL

    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    St. Clair Shores Michigan
    Local Time:
    7:45 AM
    WHAT CHEVY??? I dint see that word in any post above...am I missing something?
     
  11. myasylum

    myasylum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    I agree... What Chevy??
     
  12. 68 A

    68 A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Location:
    Auburn, NY
    Local Time:
    7:45 AM
    just a joke. The post didn't mention a mopar either.
     
  13. myasylum

    myasylum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    6:45 AM
    Well... I took out the speedo again, and when I played with the needle, I pushed it in and there was like a "click" like something feel into place. So I put everything back togther and the speedo now goes over 40, but I'm also actully driving at about 20.
    URGH! I can't win!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.