STOCK 318 roller cam vs non roller LA

-

gliderider06

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I picked up a 88 TBI 318 today for the #302 heads, and tearing it apart it is a factory roller 318. The plan was to use the heads on an earlier 77 318 (that is already rebuilt). Is there any real advantage to using a roller motor vs a flat tappet hydraulic cam? Fuel milage, performance etc? This engine will be for my stock DD 87 ramcharger, that still sports factory 2bbl and manifolds. I would consider rebuilding the tbi motor and using it for the Ramcharger if it has a clear advantage than the older motor i have for it.
Thanks, Paul

I think roller cams are an advantage.
No break in !
No worries about current oils !
Less hassle !
Less friction !
I hear they make more power .
Im no expert though.

Most roller LA engines are advertised 9.2:1 compression.

I wouldnt figure theres much difference since both engines are basically rated the same power.

I had an 85 5th ave which is supposed to be roller and it only got 15 mpg in town.

I pulled the heads and the bores are great especially for an 88. No ridges that I could feel with my fingernail and still have crosshatches in the bores.

With roller cams, another plus is steeper ramps that open the valve faster, leave it open longer and close it faster.....roller cams kick butt.

Jeff

I always wondered why the LA when they knew that they were going to go to the Magnum block. Not that I know anything about big business.They had to re-tool for such a short run.I'm not complaining,they did a good job. I'm glad to have one.

5 years (86-ish to 91-ish) is a pretty decent run IMO.

The reason mopar and others went roller was due to the fact that additives were being taken out of oil, zinc, phosphorus, molybdenum, etc because these chemicals ended up destroying catalytic converters when small amounts of oil burn.