Storing car in shipping container

-

cpearce

Reaction score
Can anyone shed some light on the pros-cons of storing a car in a shipping container. I'm running out of space and might need to put my Dart into a container next winter. I live in Alberta Canada where we get tough winters. How does one properly ventilate a container to prevent condensation?

I don't know how best to ventilate, but I have heard horror stories if you don't. Things will get moldy...

Insulate if you can, I use one for storing my car parts, and also live in canada. Was thinking of installing a moisture censor bathroom fan. This way it will only run when needed.

They are brutal and do hold moisture. I've been there and won't do it again.

If that is your last resort I would look into desiccant bags to keep it dry. I do know that they sell large ones that hang on the walls and work quite well. I think grainger sells them.

I've been running a dehumidifier for about 4 or 5 yrs, 24/7. I bought it from Costco online. it cost less than a couple hundred dollars. You can hand drain the water it collects, but I opted to go for the automatic drain. It has a convolute plastic hose, that I just draped into the sink in my garage. You can select the humidity percentage you want to maintain, and it keeps it there by itself. I never noticed any increase in my electric bill, but it has to use some electricity, just not a huge amount.

Dehumidifiers don't operate at ambient temps below 40F. I've had a harrier running in my basement for several years. To paint the top of the container black will help ( the sun will heat it up ). To get it up off the ground so air circulates underneath would help too.

"Damp Rid" brand?