Supercharge Or Turbo?

-

67valiant 100

go fast or go home
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I'm just curious as to what is better and why? Is it that turbos are cheaper? It seems that supercharging is way simpler to set up.

I prefer a turbo but the real question is why did you throw the Slant away for the BB in the Valiant? Put the Slant back in a turbo it!!! Later
Ryan

Turbos aren't powered by sucking power from the crank, they use wasted exhaust energy which is the big + there. The + of the supercharger is the ease of setting it up. Theres alot more to it than that, but, I'd go turbos as you wouldnt suck down nearly as much gas as a supercharger

Look up the evolution of supercharging and turbo charging in aircraft engines. The effects and benefits are realized over the years. It is amazing how much energy is shooting out the exhaust pipe. Very interesting reading if you are info forced induction. My opinion is ditto what DarTT said.. Also I have no first hand experience.

Look up the evolution of supercharging and turbo charging in aircraft engines. The effects and benefits are realized over the years. It is amazing how much energy is shooting out the exhaust pipe. Very interesting reading if you are info forced induction. My opinion is ditto what DarTT said.. Also I have no first hand experience.

It's certainly true that superchargers use engine power to turn them and also true that we're talking about engine power that never makes it to the rear wheels.

But turbocharging extracts its own pound of flesh from the engine, to create boost. It does so by creating increased back pressure in the exhaust system; if your engine is enjoying. say, 20 pounds of boost, you probably have something like 30+ pounds of back pressure in the exhaust system up-stream of the turbocharger. Overall, it's a good tradeoff, because turbos tend to be more efficient than superchargers, but don't think that turbocharging is "free." It's not...