swap 1996 318 EFI onto 1967 273?

Discussion in 'Small Block Mopar Engine' started by Dana67Dart, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Dana67Dart

    Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    333
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Local Time:
    7:52 AM
    Has anyone swapped the EFI intake, etc and electronics from a 90's 318 onto a 60s 273?

    Sure swapping the entire 318 could be done but what would the fun in that be?
     
  2. 65 Dartman

    65 Dartman FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    9,076
    Likes Received:
    1250
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Strasburg, VA
    Local Time:
    9:52 AM
    I have thought about this myself. Subscribed!
     
  3. diymirage

    diymirage HP@idle > hondaHP@redline FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,989
    Likes Received:
    5168
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    michigan
    Local Time:
    9:52 AM
    Are the bolt angles for the intake the same between those two motors?
    (I seem to remember the earlier 273s had a different bolt angle, but I don't recall the cut off)
     
  4. 65 Dartman

    65 Dartman FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    9,076
    Likes Received:
    1250
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Strasburg, VA
    Local Time:
    9:52 AM
    The change was for 66 but if you used 66-later 273/318 heads it wouldn’t matter
     
  5. replicaracer43

    replicaracer43 Old school member

    Messages:
    3,473
    Likes Received:
    1657
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    8:52 AM
    What year fuel injection? The factory TBI was problem prone, would probably be a reliability downgrade from a well tuned carb. The 93 up magnum stuff is light years better, but not applicable to your 273
     
  6. Dana67Dart

    Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    333
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Local Time:
    7:52 AM
    1996 318 from a jeep grand Cherokee. Not TBI as I recall
     
  7. mvh

    mvh FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    Local Time:
    6:52 AM
    Does the electronics require a crank position sensor? I don't know late model stuff at all, just thinking of potential hiccups.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • replicaracer43

      replicaracer43 Old school member

      Messages:
      3,473
      Likes Received:
      1657
      Joined:
      Oct 10, 2008
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      8:52 AM
      Oh, didn't see that. But NO, intake won't bolt on, and no provision on rear of block to mount crank sensor.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • replicaracer43

        replicaracer43 Old school member

        Messages:
        3,473
        Likes Received:
        1657
        Joined:
        Oct 10, 2008
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        8:52 AM
        Easier, faster, more performance would be swap in intire 318 magnum, although I understand that's not what you asked.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Dana67Dart

          Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

          Messages:
          1,030
          Likes Received:
          333
          Joined:
          Jul 16, 2017
          Location:
          Northern Colorado
          Local Time:
          7:52 AM
          That's what I was looking for. I know 273 and 318 not 100% comparable but I don't know the differences over the years.
           
        • replicaracer43

          replicaracer43 Old school member

          Messages:
          3,473
          Likes Received:
          1657
          Joined:
          Oct 10, 2008
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          8:52 AM
          Magnum (93 up) went to a vertical bolt arrangement
           
        • Tooljunkie

          Tooljunkie King of cobble/master of the broken bolt FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,765
          Likes Received:
          3344
          Joined:
          Jul 22, 2017
          Location:
          Manitoba
          Local Time:
          8:52 AM
          I would spend the money on a tbi system from holley or whatever. The 87to 93? Tbi systems are not considered tuneable by any means.
          The magnum immediately thereafter is much better, but as mentioned the transmission bellhousing has to be notched for the sensor. Manual and auto require different sensors.
          Flex plate/flywheel needs to be adapted to the 904.
          Engine/trans would be easier yet.
           
        • DionR

          DionR Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,722
          Likes Received:
          84
          Joined:
          May 7, 2008
          Location:
          Spokane, WA
          Local Time:
          6:52 AM
          If Magnum heads would bolt on, and it was an auto, it would probably be easy to do. Not sure the 273 bore is big enough for the 1.92/1.625 valves.

          If the bore is big enough, bolting the heads on would allow you to bolt the intake on. After that, the last hurdle would be swapping the flex plate so the CPS would have notches to read, and then building a mount for the CPS.

          There is a place that sold a mount the used the trans bolts, for like $75 or something. I’ve also seen some one use a piece of angle bolt to the back of the head to create the flat plane needed to bolt the CPS to.

          Could all be done, provided the heads bolt on without conflicts with the valves.
           
        • DionR

          DionR Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,722
          Likes Received:
          84
          Joined:
          May 7, 2008
          Location:
          Spokane, WA
          Local Time:
          6:52 AM
          Just occurred to me that bolting it on is only half the struggle. Still have to tune it so it runs right, which won't happen unless your swap is an OBD2 setup.

          Pretty sure a 96 GC is, but I would verify before putting much effort into it.
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          37,149
          Likes Received:
          4891
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          6:52 AM
          1....You can NOT bolt a multiport magnum intake to any LA engine, and the manifold CAN NOT be redrilled.

          (If you spend enough time AND MONEY, you might be able to re-drill the LA heads for the magnum intake, but that would require removing the heads)

          2....Magnum head swaps have been done, don't know if practical on 273, due to compression.......would mag head drop comression? Don't know

          Go over to "Binder Planet" and read some of the ideas over there. Guys HAVE put injector bungs into carb manifolds and ran multiport injection with older manifolds.

          Magnum "stuff". You need a mag crank sensor setup which you will have to build. You are not going to be able to run the factory magnum flexplate on your 273, at least not without a lot of work

          In theory, you could run a mag distributor which provides the cam sync (not ignition trigger)

          speed sensor.........Not sure..........there were some TBI engines which used speed sensors which fit the early style transmissions, so "maybe" you could go with that. SOMEWHERE I found a NP435 truck gearbox out of a TBI truck which had the "same as" later speed sensor. AKA the speed sensor fit the 4 speed and worked with the factory TBI and could be used with newer multiport

          You could build up your own TBI.......get / find/ steal/ buy a TBI throttle body, buy a megasquirt unit. You don't need cam sync or speed sensor, and could trigger it from a Mopar electronic distributor.

          Find/ look/ wait a USED unit. I have an old Holley pro-jection, a Holley Commander 950 (I would sell electronics to that) Holley HP adapted to the Commander TBI, and have just bought an FItech TBI "used" off CL for about 1/2 the new price Yeah.........it's a gamble

          This all started in 2012

          Anyone know Holley Commander 950's? programming?

          This is the old Holley pro-jection. Computer works but not worth the trouble. GREAT candidate to upgrade to Megasquirt. Payed 75 bucks I think

          attachment.jpg

          Used Holly Commander 950 I think I paid 300 bucks. Turned out to be a steal, you cannot find the TB unit for that on egag Only thing really wrong with these is they are not "self learning"

          5n65ic5x53k83f43n1c9s8502de99dd7b1d7b-jpg.jpg

          Later, I upgraded the Commander to Holley HP for around 1300 "all new" from Holley, with HP computer, harness and O2 sensor. EITHER the Holley HP or the Commander computer (or Megasquirt) will operate EITHER TBI or multiport.
           
          Last edited: Mar 17, 2018
        • Dana67Dart

          Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

          Messages:
          1,030
          Likes Received:
          333
          Joined:
          Jul 16, 2017
          Location:
          Northern Colorado
          Local Time:
          7:52 AM
          Thanks all for great input. I have laid the idea to rest now!