sway bar doesn't seem to fit

Suspension, Steering and Chassis

  1. 68 A

    68 A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Location:
    Auburn, NY
    Local Time:
    4:32 AM
    I'm rebuilding my front end and i installed the spindles today, but can't go any farther since year one likes to take their time with shipping my disc brake conversion. So since i do have the new sway bar from p-s-t i decided to put that on. However i'm not sure if i have the correct bar or i need to wait to put it on once the brakes and wheels are back on and it can sit on the ground where the lower control arms would be under weight. The problem with the bar is that it seem to be too wide. Mounting the bar to the lower control arm, the bar sticks to the outside a little bit, i got the drivers side on, however it is anlged and not straight, and the passengers side is sticking out farther and the bolt to connect it to the lower control arm is at such and angel i can't get all the bushings on it.

    Is the bar wrong, or do i need to wait to put it on one the car is off the jack stands?

    Dart 142.jpg

    Dart 144.jpg
     
  2. Robbie2734

    Robbie2734 Lambcharger

    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Location:
    Milford NJ
    Local Time:
    4:32 AM
    I hope these pic's help. This is from a 67 cuda form s. That is why the hangers are on the lca, you need to move the bar above the lca attachment.

    100_1301 (Small).jpg

    100_1302 (Small).jpg
     
  3. 69signetv8

    69signetv8 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    Sooke BC
    Local Time:
    1:32 AM
    This is a stock setup on 70 Duster. If your directions call for the brackets to be bolted to your shock mount bolts is there a chance your sway bar is upside down? Could this change your angle a tad..., just a wild call.

    DSCF0001.JPG
     
  4. 68 A

    68 A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Location:
    Auburn, NY
    Local Time:
    4:32 AM
    my kit does have the braket mounted to the shock mount bolts. it had crossed my mind to try changing it, but looked at it and didnt think it was much different. but i will give it a try. Thanks
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.