swinger 360

-

n8ling

Reaction score
Howdy, this is my first time on here, and it looks like I'm a rookie mopar gear head. I recently scored a 74 swinger in near mint condion #1 problem, not enough power in the slanty. I have also come across a 76 royal monaco (free)
although most parts are usless to me I kept a few, more important I've got the block 360 and tranny 727. The block seems a little tired in the bottom end, but she'll still gets up and goes. I guess my question is, I'm planning on a top end rebuild And need to know some good strong combinations with out getting to crazy. I have done a lot of research on the conversion, and am trying my dambdest to get a hold of a 8.75 rear end with an A body housing, not easy but have some good leads. I've got the brake upgrades under control, just need to know things like if I'll have enough room for headers or will I have to stay stock with manifolds. The steering box is another huge concern since I'm probebly staying with the sixy K-member.
Not rich but got a few bucks to spend and lots of time for wrenching, so any info would be a big help..........thanks ,new mopar nut!

http://www.engine-swaps.com/ Has the swap kit needed for the V-8 swap. Any header manufacturer will have headers for this car/engine combo. The k frame being a /6 is not a problem.
Do a search on headers and see. (Go to the exhaust section.)
A top end rebuild can cause problems on the lower end if it is weak.
The steering box is of no concern.

Now, a strong combo.....you'll get lots of opinions here on that. Sooo, how much power do you want to create?
On the cheap type build;
Swap meet for a used carb, Torker II or Performer and headers. I would spend the money on a new cam. You didn't say what gears your going to use, soooo a cam would be near impossible to recomend.

Brand spanking new parts would be; A RPM intake and heads, headers and carb to match.